I have quit my job

16 55
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago

This is me right now

If you know me (or read my articles) you'll know I hated my job

It was high time and things were getting out of hand, the kind of assignments I was getting were completely insane.

It seemed like they were trying to put me in situations where I would quit my job, instead of them having to fire me.

This has been going on for so long that it was starting to mess with my mental peace a lot.

So one fine day I just quit

It was a hot summer day and I had just arrived to a new location, my company had deployed me to a different city for a project.

The role I was to take up was something I had no understanding of nor did I had any background knowledge of. So why did they sent me in the first place, because they didn't had anyone else to deploy there.

Basically my leadership took up a project without even assessing if they had the manpower to implement the project.

Why its bad for me

So I am the kind of a person who like a good challenge and I would have taken up this project as a challenge if I even had remotely worked in such a domain before.

But the profile that they had sent me for is that of Database Administrator whereas I had never worked on database of any kind and had no background for it.

Its like sending a architect to do a surgeon's job.

People in my company are not very bright

Or are they! And this is just a way to get me to quit on my own.

Finally I am free

I had put in my resignation just a couple of weeks ago and while I had initially had a notice period of 3 months. They want me to get out of the company much sooner, their reasoning "we don't have work for you".

So I am on the way out.

I am happy, but...

I am happy, but also worried about the future as I have bills piling up and have no means of income anymore.

I am living in uncertainty and don't know if I'll be able to get a job anytime soon.

I need a job

I need a job because I am poor

That's quite a basic statement but the problem with me is that I don't have any savings (Crypto or Fiat).

I have a little bit of Crypto here and there and some money in the bank but don't know how long will it last.

Worst time to quit my job

I am aware that it is the very worst time to be leaving a stable job.

With the inflation going through the roof, war in Ukraine and Fed rates getting crazy.

I am aware of all this but...

I regret nothing

I don't regret being unemployed at a time like this because I know it is the right decision and I couldn't do this job anymore.

But I am worried about the future

I am worried about the future, I mean who wouldn't if they were in my position.

If I had been a rich guy I wouldn't be so worried but I barely have any money and would need support from my family till I get another job.

Family matters

I was afraid that my family wouldn't understand why I left my job

And I was right

They still think that I shouldn't have done that

But they are still supporting me

That is one relief...

Hopefully I'll get a job soon

I really need a job as soon as possible because I don't have multiple revenue streams.

My job was my only source

For the future...

I want to change this

While my main main right now is to first and foremost get a job, I will start working on second source of income as well.

Be it a side business of online hustle or anything, I will start something, anything so that I would never be in this situation again.

My advise to other would be "start secondary income source"

Not being tied to one income source is one of the most important thing in the world and to anyone I can reach, anyone reading this, make a secondary income or multiple income source so that even if you had to quit your job or if you are fire you are not in a situation where you are left with no money to even pay your bills. That's how you end up being a homeless bum.

Hopefully, I'll avoid the fate of being a homeless bum.

9
$ 7.51
$ 7.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 6
Sponsors of nomadghada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago

Comments

i think you made the right decision here but remember that we need a job for us to survive whether self-employed or working in corporate world.

not all graduate of a specific college course are working with thier choosen career. sometimes a licence doctor can work as a police officer.

i was connected in printing business for a very long time but i dont know about printing. its just that i was compensated well in the past but i wanted to leave because its not my passion.

i hope you find your passion when you quit your job. but you need to feed so my suggestion is you find a temporay job to sustain your daily needs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Friend, I know I am looking for a different job as well as some part-time earning avenue as well. Looking for different openings that pays the bills without breaking my soul. Somethings are looking positive, hoping for the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is better if you will look for any side gigs or be a freelancer. For me freelancing is better than an actual job if you have a sure client 😄

Now, you need to spend your time as unemployed by learning new skill and looking for more opportunity. Writing in this platform is a good idea!

You can try these platforms to maximize your earnings if you are not signed up yet to them:

Congrats for being free!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I am looking into freelancing. For Publish0x my writer account isn't approved yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need a job because I am poor

HIGH FIVE!!! I am not yet brave enough to quit my job though. But sometimes I guess if you say your mental peace is affected. That is a call for a little rest. I think health stuff will cost you more than the bills that you are worried about now .

I pray you do get new job soon !!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much bro, both for your understanding and wishes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will get a new job by carrying out a good search. You can watch a podcast interview on resume writing on my Odysee channel, "Learning Times" (link on the sponsor panel).

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I'll do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand, I'll never tell anyone to continue with a job they're not happy at. But there are bills to pay, so some stay there simply because. I am sure you'll find another soon enough and who knows, maybe you'll like it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks I hope so too, kinda getting anxious now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're is not good for you unless you enjoy it, hopefully youll5 get a good job that you feel passionate about.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I hope so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being constrained at a workplace you don’t enjoy and with people you don’t like is one of the biggest nightmares for me too. I quit many times, then go back when bills pile up 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know what you mean, that is why I finally decided to resign. Hopefully I'll get one soon and then I can start building a second income for future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I’m in the middle of considering my options too. Good luck to both of us ;)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen, Good luck to both of us

$ 0.00
1 year ago