How I lost a great domain

8 42
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago

I had just lost a really cool domain :(

With beating around the bush let me tell you how:

I lost it because I didn't renew it

My Domain

I had snatched traveler.tez about a year ago,

If you don't know .tez is a blockchain domain built on Tezos.

Unlike Unstoppable Domains all other domains have a expiry,

Which is one of the reason I mostly purchase my domains from them.

My Tezos domain

Since I have favorable views on the Tezos blockchain I had brought the domain last year and since then I had purchased a few more, mostly because of need.

If you may remember I tried to launch my own online magazine which was the first magazine on the Web 3.0 but sadly the domain I had for that purpose was on Polygon network and wasn't integrated with browsers and the website couldn't be viewed without an special extension.

Then I shifted to Tezos domain which was surprising well integrated and fast and the website built on it were easily available just like any other web 2.0 website.

The magazine failed nontheless and I had to abandon the project.

You can still see the website at: https://fridaythe13th.tez.page/

But soon that domain will expire as well and the website will be taken down.

Losing a great domain

As you can guess traveler.tez was a great domain and since I failed to renew it, someone else has brought it.

I really wish that tezos domain would have been perpetual like Unstoppable Domains and once brought are owned forever.

Or maybe Unstoppable Domains could get there act together and focus on the website hosting aspect of the domains as well.

Currently they are focusing on there wallet address use case to transfer crypto, so that people sending and receiving crypto can just use a domain name instead of the address which is a long string of numbers and letter.

Which is great and I use unstoppable domains to receive BCH and other crypto to my wallet, but the polygon based are still not integrated to the Brave browser.

I really wish that they focus on it soon as it could be a revolution for website hosting in my ways.

Why does it matter?

My website for the magazine was entirely designed by me and founded through Crypto.

Fiat wasn't involved in any way other than that I am using my personal laptop.

  • I brought the domain from the Crypto I got from NoiseCash & ReadCash

  • I hosted on the IPFS through Pinata

  • I used templates that were freely available

It was an exercise in freedom, opportunity and expression.

Sadly things aren't as good as they could be.

Unstoppable websites are not easily visible and the Tezos domains needs to be renewed.

LNS domains

There are LNS domains as well on the SmartBCH network and while I am a fan of SmartBCH I can't say the same for LNS domains.

LNS is itself a fork of ENS and still to date quite buggy.

I have 1 LNS domain which is rasputin.bch

You can view the website that I had once hosted on my Tezos domain traveler.tez at my LNS domain as well.

That is if it actually opens

After I got my LNS domain I through I'll work on a website for it and to test how it would work I had put the same hash of the traveler.tez to check if it works.

While it works its not that good, the website loads slowly and sometimes it crashes not an ideal thing

you can non the less see it at rasputin.bch.is

Long way to go

It seems the blockchain domains have a long way to go

Hopefully Unstoppable domains fix the issues with the website on regular browsers

Until then I am sad about losing just a good domain.

8
$ 8.78
$ 8.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 5
Sponsors of nomadghada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago

Comments

The game is about giving up. Hope you win the domain again next time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hope so friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bargain with the domain registrar company for a multiple-year rate, and buy with BCH payment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It has already been acquired by someone else.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then, your domain name is a popular keyword!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, traveler was a great keyword.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sorry about that buddy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Its OK, we win some we lose some

$ 0.00
1 year ago