Reflection: An Artist's Manual Webinar

0 25

Before I get started, I'd like to thank my very first readcash sponsor, @Trifecta. As a newbie, this means a lot to me.

Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty

To start of, the webinar entitled “Reality Check: An Artist's Manual” was organized by the students of CIIT of Arts and Technology which focused on the three guest speakers' experience and journey as a freelance artists. They generously shared their inspiring life and work experiences in graphic design, film production, and mural arts. This webinar helped me to understand how versatile the industry of arts and letters is, as well as how necessary it is to learn numerous fields in order to benefit oneself in the future.

Graphic Design

The first freelance artist to speak was a graphic designer. While she was giving her speech, I learned a lot about how to approach prospective clients in the future.

She also shared the phrase posted in the picture in which I completely agree. Some people tend to delay necessary tasks and do other things until they wasted so much time that will lead to completing the task in a short period of time, resulting in an unsatisfactory result. On the other hand, some people are more comfortable with it than others. Personally, I'm part of a group that crams their work into as little time as possible but I can tell that I am more productive and my mind is working harder with that kind of setup.

Film Production

The second speaker was a freelance filmmaker. I am able to identify myself with him since he is also a student. However, he already worked on a real production in the film industry, as part of viva film.

He never imagined that his curiosity in filmmaking would lead to his dream job. It all began with a pique of interest, and look where he is now. Following our curiosity can bring us to good or unpleasant result, but one thing is certain: there will be no regrets or what-ifs later.

Mural Arts

Finally, a muralist. This was actually my first encounter with this kind of art. It is, without a doubt, a fantastic opportunity to see intriguing mural work.

One thing I learned from her experience that I may apply to myself is the value of understanding one's own worth. Some people around us, especially those in the professional field, will always try to acquire a discount or demand a much cheaper price, which is why we must understand our worth as artists and as persons in general. Making art is a difficult task. At first look, the process of creating art appears to be simple, but it requires a substantial amount of work and patience on the part of the artist. As a result, we must compensate for such efforts at an acceptable cost.

Overall, I had a great time at the webinar and learned a lot. Their story inspired me, and I'm convinced that as a media practitioner, I will be able to make my own professional journey in the future.

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Trifecta
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty

Comments