Preparation for Life after Graduation

6 61

As we prepare for our forthcoming graduation, our beloved professor in Personality Development chose to conduct a four-part webinar for us BulSU Broadcasting graduates, focusing on the preparations we should make as we embark on the next phase of our journey and pursue our selected career path.

"FOURWARD: THE FOUR ESSENTIALS TO MOVE FORWARD" is the title of a four-part webinar series. The webinar's title comes from the fact that we are fourth-year students with four sections, and four series of webinars will be held to help us prepare to move FOURward.

4 series of webinar that will talk about

(1) How to prepare for the media industry

(2) How to ace job interview

(3) How to create resume and (4) portolio

The first part of this 4 series of webinar started last Friday, April 29. The two-hour webinar, titled "On-Air, The MEdia IndusTRY," focused on Mr. Geo Lomuntad's professional experience in the media industry. He graduated from Bulacan State University with the same course as mine, therefore I can say he is truly an inspiration in terms of how he has been able to achieve his goals.

[ INSIGHTS AND TAKEWAYS: BROADCASTING STUDENT POV ]

This webinar gave me a better understanding of what to expect after I graduate from college and how to prepare for it. Despite the fact that this course provides numerous job opportunities in media industry— television, film, and advertising, the reality is that finding a job is not as simple as it seems. We all know how competitive the professional industry is. As a graduate of the Broadcasting program, you will have to work twice as hard to achieve what you want in the film industry, because the degree does not include areas related to film.

As we enter the media world, all of our preconceived ideas about it may come true. That is why I believe in what the speaker said about assessing our character to see if we can handle the pressure. As soon as I start working, I should prepare for the worst and anticipate unpleasant side comments. But, if this happens, I need to remind myself that it's all for the good of my career as a media practitioner. After all, I took this course because I am following my heart and passion, and as what Mr. Lomuntad mentioned, following our heart will lead us to our intended goal.

In addition, I regard my after-graduation plan on Mr. Lomuntad's experience as he search for his first job. I intend to work in a field unrelated to the media after graduation, which is why I applied for the upcoming civil service examination. I'd like to work for a government agency. However, after hearing Mr. Lomuntad talk, I am determined to pursue my dream of working in the media industry and will continue to apply for a job related to it. After all, to work in the media industry is the reason why I signed up for this course.

But, if I ever find work, I swear to remember what Mr. Lomuntad mentioned about the value of growth. According to him, apply a three-year rule in work. After three years, and if ever I feel that there is no longer growth in what I do, I must must pursue new opportunities no matter how difficult it is because lack of growth can have a variety of negative consequences in one's life.

As I get ready for the graduation, it's important to have a head start on what to expect once I graduate and start looking for work. This webinar is a great start to our four webinar series. I am looking forward to the remaining three episode of the webinar

5
$ 0.60
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
$ 0.01 from @Mr.Valentine
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty

Comments

You're drawing near closer to your dream. Grab the opportunity when it knocks in your life. Be patient in waiting for a job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang struggle ko lang sa webinar is yung inaantok ako. Haha. Pero so far marami na rin akong naattendan na webinar na hindi naman related sa course ko. Iniiinvite kasi ako. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depende rin kasi sa way magsalita ng speaker at kung relatable ba talaga sya magdiscuss ang pakikinig ng audience nya. Minsan ganyan din ako inaantok at tamad makinig haha pero pag magaling yung speaker, ang sarap makinig lalo na kapag based on personal experience yung sinasabi nya.

Mahalaga nga rin pag attend ng mga webinars lalo na yung may mga certificate of participation kasi pwede ilagay sa resume haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless to your plans Nathan. Always pray. I know God will guide you. I remember when I graduate a college. I have a lot of plans. It was the time I went to the city for applying a job in different companies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankyou, Ramona. I am also planning to go to city to apply for a job in different companies. God bless you too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're always welcome Nathan and thank you also. Wishing you all the best Nathan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago