I miss playing volleyball

1 58
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Volleyball, Sports

Today is Thursday, and we all know that this day is ideal for us to reflect on all of the memories we have cherished up to this point. This is known as #ThrowbackThursday, and it has previously been a trending topic on all social media platforms because everyone may post and share their most memorable experience from the past.

As for me, I'd want to use this chance to reminisce about my high school days, when we used to play volleyball every afternoon after class, or should I say, even if we had free time in the middle of the class, we would still play till the next class arrived haha.

This memory came to me this morning while I was watching the UAAP Volleyball Season 84. I remembered all the glass window and light bulbs we accidentally shattered when playing volleyball in our room and in the small facilitiy outside of our room, haha. Volleyball actually became one of our stress relievers during high school.

I started watching volleyball since I was in eighth grade. This sport was taught to me by a childhood friend who played volleyball and watched volleyball games on television. The Shakeys V-League, in which the Ateneo squad competed against the other teams, was the first volleyball competition I saw. Even though I had no idea what the game's rules and regulations are, I still watched it and felt the tension as I hoped the Ateneo team would win, despite the fact that I didn't know any of their players. Maybe it's because they were outscored by the opposing team, therefore I wanted them to win. We all know how Filipinos love to root for the underdog, so perhaps I felt the same way about the Ateneo team, and who would've guessed they would still win the game in the end.

After that, I began to watch all of their games, even those in the UAAP, a collegiate competition in which eight universities compete: (1) Ateneo De Manila University, (2) De La Salle University, (3) University of Sto Tomas, (4) University of the Philippines, (5) University of the East, (6) Far Eastern University, (7) National University and (8) Adamsom University.

I originally became a fan of the Ateneo team during UAAP Season 76, when they went on a historic Cinderella run to win their first championship, and the rest is history.

I also began playing volleyball at that time, but my classmate and I began playing volleyball in ninth grade using only a footrug as a ball, but things changed in our tenth year when we were able to get a real ball haha. So whenever we had free time, we went outdoors and played volleyball until the next class arrived. We went straight to the oval or school field after the class ended and played until we were exhausted and decided to go home and call it a day.

I also recall a reporting assignment for PE class. We were given the task to discussed the game of volleyball. I took control of delivering our report because I am already aware with the game's regulations, player positions, and other volleyball-related information.

I used to play libero, which is the position where you receive and dig the other players' spike (just like what the gif shows above). One reason why I chose to played that role is because of my height, haha. I can't even reach the men's net height by more than an inch. It's quite high, which is why I'm always amazed whenever I see a men's volleyball game.

However, things changed when we reached 11th grade and decided to pursue a different course in life. Some of my classmates have transferred to a different high school to complete their senior year. That was the point at which I stopped playing volleyball because I no longer had any volleyball mates, hehe. Playing the said game is something I miss doing.

Despite the fact that I no longer play volleyball, I continue to watch any volleyball competition around the country. I'm now following UAAP Season 84, and the PVL Reinforced Conference will debut in July. Volleyball never stop indeed.

4
$ 2.15
$ 2.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Volleyball, Sports

Comments

nice, I also like playing volleyball exactly when I was in high school, and now I miss those days

$ 0.00
1 year ago