Few Things that a college student should know after graduation

1 19
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago

The second and fourth episode of our four-part webinar series focused on job application preparation. The second webinar covers job interviews, while the fourth covers portfolio development, resume and application letter writing. This shows that both webinars aim to prepare us for a successful job application and I would like to share it with everyone.

While listening to the two speakers, respectively, I am reminded of my past interview and my stored résumé. When I compare what I did to what the speakers were stating, I can't deny that I somehow did it differently.

Be honest in what I put on my résumé and during the job interview. This is exactly what I should do as I try to apply for a job after the graduation. I should be aware of my non-negotiables, which means that I should not apply for a job that is contrary to my principles and beliefs, as well as not aligned with my schedules, since, after all, if I ever pass the application, it will be me who will be having a difficult time. I should determine my strength since I am the one who knows myself better than everyone else.

Rejection is part of life. This is something I must remember at all times. Personally, even though I've had many rejections in my life, I still feel sad and upset whenever one occurs. That is, however, the truth. Rejection formed my character as well.

After graduation, there are several things I need to prepare. This is all part of the process as I embark on a new chapter in my life, and these webinars have helped me to become more aware on the aspects of the professional industry that I was previously unaware of, particularly when it comes to working in the media field.

It is true that having a Broadcasting degree offers its own set of advantages when it comes to work chances in the media industry, one of which being the advertising field. Our third speaker in our Fourward webinar series was a strategy and planning manager. AdverTeaser was the right name for her webinar, as she shared her experience and provided us a glimpse into the world of advertising.

During the webinar, the reality that life begins after graduation hit me hard. These are the words spoken by the speaker, which made me realize the real battle I will face after finishing my studies. I expect the actual world to be challenging, therefore preparation is crucial. As someone who has limited work experience, I am concerned about which job I should apply for initially.

Personally, I can not picture myself working in the advertising field since I lack confidence in my ability to perform advertising-related tasks in my four years in college. But after attending this webinar, I asked myself why I restrict myself to something and pursue everything instead by stepping beyond of my comfort zone. We should not be choosy in life, as the speaker stated, because everything counts as an experience. To work with brands I've only seen advertised on television and social media makes me wonder how amazing that experience might be. Since life is a never-ending learning experience, why not use my weaknesses as a motivation to improve?

Before the webinar concluded, in addition to discussing the world of advertising, the speaker also provided several essential ideas about developing relationship with those around us. This webinar really brought certain things to my attention. One thing is that I need to adjust some of my life habits. I shouldn't sever ties with those I've met along the way. I should keep a positive attitude to everyone because the possibilities of dealing with them again are high, and I may need their assistance at some point. These are some of the things I may encounter once I begin working in the media industry, therefore developing positive relationships with people is one of the most essential things I must do.

4
$ 2.97
$ 2.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago

Comments

Rejection is part of life is very essential to know; I got rejected over 50 times and it hit hard but I got to know that just because I am rejected doesn't mean I am not good enough.

$ 0.01
1 year ago