Day 1: My preparation for the upcoming civil service exam

13 79
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago

I woke up this morning with pain in my body. That's reasonable because I finished our laundry last night. I decided to wash our clothes in the evening because the weather is not that hot anymore during night time. I know it sounds weird haha, but I know I'm not the only one who does his laundry at night. Thanks to our dryer though, I don't need the heat of the sun to dry our clothes.

Another reason why I did our laundry last night is that I decided to start studying for the upcoming civil service exam on Sunday today. Because I am the type of person who loves to procrastinate, I decided to review a week before the exam. I was just too lazy to start reviewing earlier this month, as I usually am. I actually considered not reviewing and instead rely on my stock knowledge gained over 15 years of study, but then I realized I am not that smart haha.

I finally started my preparation after finishing my breakfast. I had already added the youtube playlist that my cousin had sent me, which contains a lot of Ms. Lyqa Revilla's civil service exam review and discussion.

Who is Ms. Lyqa Revilla?

According to Ms. Lyqa Maravilla's youtube channel, she is an educational content creator, a podcast host, and a resource speaker. After getting the top spot in the 2013 Philippine Civil Service Exam, Lyqa started making free content on YouTube and Facebook to help people pass aptitude exams. This birthed a community of learners from all over the world who call themselves Team Lyqa.

Coach Lyqa, as her students and subscribers call her, is one of Youtube and United Nations Development Programme's (UNDP) Creators for Change Ambassadors for Asia-Pacific Countries (APAC). She was also chosen by Creator and Influencer Council of the Philippines as the Education Champion in 2020.

She continues to create educational content about Math, English, Logic, job interview tips, internet safety, learn to teach, etc. Her goal is to democratize education here in the Philippines and, just maybe, the entire world. ©

I started by watching Ms. Lyqa Revilla's YouTube videos about the Civil Service Examination. This includes exam coverage, as well as what I'll study and how I'll manage my time during the exam.

Before continuing, I decided to download first the Examination Advisory No. 9, for 2022 Important reminders, dos and don'ts, and other pertinent information about the upcoming exam can be found on the Civil Service Commission's Facebook page. I was particularly searching the exam's coverage.

Following the professional level exam coverage, I've decided on which lesson to begin. Knowing how difficult it is for me to grasp the subject of mathematics, I decided to begin my review by going over these three lessons under numerical ability. I viewed Ms. Lyqa Revilla's videos on number sequence, basic operations, and word problems.

I can say that I had no trouble understanding the discussion about number sequence and basic operations, but when I moved on to the world problem, I had a hard time understanding how to solve percentages and other problems. This is, in fact, one of my weaknesses, which is why I chose communication as my college major hahaha.

I chose to take a break and eat my lunch before my mind exploded from math problems. Now I've decided to write an article about my first day of reviewing in order to keep everyone up to date on my progress. Later at night, I will answer the civil service mock exam that I found online.

'til my next update.

6
$ 1.38
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago

Comments

Goodluck on your upcoming exam my friend. Nakita ko din yan sis Ms. Lyka sa YouTube at magaling talaga siya mag explain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama po kayo kaya ang dami ko rin po natutunan sa kanya ^^

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Si Ms. Lyka din pala pinapanood mo? Sobrang galing nya magturo at nagegets ko agad yung topic. Sya din naging source of learnings ko before magtake ng scholarship exam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, recommended sya ng pinsan ko pati na rin ng mga nagtake na ng civil service exam before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madaling ma-gets din kasi pag sya nagtuturo hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodluck on that :) You will pass it. Let us claim that aready :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! Manifesting. Although mahirap pala base sa mga nirreview ko ngayon pero sana kayanin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must be a real brainiac to be studying a week before an exam that mad genius right there, people like us take months preparing for exams, I don't know whether people do that but me I want when I enter the exams hall I should not be scared or worried about any questions at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha procrastination has already become part of my life everytime I need to do something. I feel like I am more effective doing that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kayang kaya mo yan and congrats na agad sayo. My friends also take that exam kaya alam ko din na medyo mahirap especially that nung nakaraan halos ang konti lang din nakapasa eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

kaya nga po e kaya 50/50 din talaga. nagrreview palang ako sumasakit na ulo ko haha sana maging worth it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations na agad bro. For sure you will nailed it. Ang daming mag tatake exam ngayon dahil nga natambakan na these past two years. Claim mo na bro!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Last examination ang baba ng passing rate haha kaya medyo kabado pero kakayanin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago