Success or contribution?

3 36
Avatar for nabilahazoor
2 years ago
Topics: Human abilities

The two are not necessarily mutually exclusive, but sometimes you are compelled to choose what would you choose?

Let me give you an example.

Have you heard of Jimmy Wales? He stated his vision in an interview with Slashdot in 2004 and said,

"Imagine a world in which every single person on the planet is given free access to the sum total of human knowledge. That's we are doing."

https://m.slashdot.org/story/65073

You know what I'm talking about? Have you heard of Wikipedia? Jimmy Wales is the founder of Wikipedia.

But that's not why I'm mentioning him here. I'm mentioning him here because he's an example of the choice that I mentioned between success, which is fame, popularity, money and significance and contribution.

Imagine what the value of quantity and quality of information contained in Wikipedia. Imagine how much money the founder could've made if he followed the usual start-up build aquire trajectory.

But what did Jimmy Wales do?

He formed a nonprofit and secured Wikipedia for all the people of the world. So that they would have free access to any information they may need.

What could have been the net worth of Jimmy Wales if he had decided to monitise Wikipedia?

He's not exactly starving to death, but he could have done many things with it, which would have made him humongously wealthy and powerful. Instead, he choose to give it away to those who need it the most students, researchers, children and anyone in search of knowledge on any subject on earth, success or contribution.

As I said, the two are not always mutually exclusive but sometimes we must make a choice.

Today, we want to focus on our youth and develop leadership. I ask you to think of what you mean by leadership? Success, money and fame OR significance and contribution.

Thanks for reading.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for nabilahazoor
2 years ago
Topics: Human abilities

Comments

Thanks for sharing this article.Nodoubt wikipidea is great platfroem for seeking information.It helps the students in making notes.It is very informative website.Good work . Your article is very good.Article writing is very good work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is very good and legend! I love Wikipedia because Wikipedia is an endless source of knowledge. My country banned Wikipedia in 2017. Most people and I protested this on Internet but the government unbanned Wikipedia in 2020.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for the compliment. The first time I wrote I wrote an article here, I had no idea how to edit it. You're the first who appreciates my article that's why your place so high in my heart 🤗. May Allah always keep you happy!❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago