Vegan Aubergine di Parmigiana

5 25
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago
Topics: Vegan, Foodies, Food, Recipe, Aubergine, ...

Hello V-Gang!,

Chef Veganu here and it is another meat-free Monday. This week I am back in the kitchen preparing a tasty vegan lunch. I have made today a vegan version of Aubergine di Parmigiana.

This is made with an Italian-style tomato sauce which is then added to the aubergine and roasted together. The final touches are to add the vegan cheese and let it melt over it for that cheesy finish.

This is my favorite aubergine dish. The aubergine, roasted in a tasty Italian sauce and melted vegan cheese just melts in your mouth.

The ingredients you need are for 2/3 people are:

  • 2 Aubergines

  • 1 Small White Onion

  • 100g Vegan Cheese

  • 1 Generous Tablespoon of Olive oil

  • 1 Tin of Chopped Tomatoes

  • Italian Spices Mix

  • Generous helping of Vegeta (approx. 1 Tablespoon)

  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

  • 1 Small Tablespoon of Sugar

  • 1 Clove of Garlic

The first step is to gather the main ingredients and get started with chopping the aubergines.

These aubergines were on sale for something like 70 cents, so if you skipped the vegan cheese which was 3 euros, you could have a huge meal for 2 for around 1 euro! This is what I usually do.

However, today, I am using some vegan cheese as it adds a nice touch to it and this one smells very nice. The remaining cheese I am saving for another dish that is coming next week..

The Aubergine is chopped into nice size chunks and then spread out on the chopping board.

This is to prepare to add some sea salt onto it. I left the sea salt for around 15 minutes to open up the aubergine.

I chop the onion into small chunks. It is not so fine to give the sauce some texture. I couldn't show myself chopping as photographing with one hand and a knife in the other was a hard juggling act.

The onions mixed with the olive oil are then fried on a medium heat initially.

I add some spices and prepare a clove of garlic in the crusher.

I then add the tin of tomatoes once the onion has changed color and is no longer see-through.

In goes the sugar.

And the vegeta.

The garlic is then crushed and added in. Once it has simmered for 5-8 minutes, we are ready for the roasting stage.

The sauce is poured first into the bowl to cover the bottom. Then I add in the first layer of aubergine. Here I want to make two rows of aubergine with some sauce in the middle. So I cover the aubergine with sauce.

Next, the second layer is added and it looks like an aubergine sandwich. Ideally, the top piece should be smaller than the piece underneath it, but don't worry if it isn't.

Once fully covered with sauce, we are almost ready.

I cover the dish with foil to not dry everything up too much.

It goes in the oven and bakes for around 40 minutes. This included the time from turning on the oven, so I didn't preheat it like you should do... whoops! lol

After 40mins, I remove the cover. Here you can see a before and after for comparison.

Here I add the vegan cheese. It smells really nice.

I cover the aubergine and after 5 minutes do a taste test.. yes it tastes good too.

Once it has melted or cooked enough as you like it, you can plate up.

Be sure to add plenty of sauce, it is full of flavor and with the aubergine will melt in your mouth.

This was my first serving and it was really good.

The melted cheese , aubergine and sauce are a great combination.

That's it for this week. Bon Apetit!

My other recipes:

Vegan Homemade Quesadilla with Guacamole
Vegan English Breakfast
Homemade Vegan Bigos - My First Polish Dish
Vegan Spanish Style Chilli
Vegan Cauliflower Curry
Fusilli Bolognese ala Vegan - Glutenfree Edition
A Twist on a German Classic!
Mushroom Curry made with love and leftover ingredients

Credits:

Title image created by myself in Canva with their free to use clipart. Above VEGAN image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

All photos are my own.

Sponsors:

Sponsors of mypathtofire
empty
empty
empty

Let's connect : mypathtofire

3
$ 0.94
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Kolus290
$ 0.03 from @ZeroRequiem
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago
Topics: Vegan, Foodies, Food, Recipe, Aubergine, ...

Comments

I'm Venezuelan and this really seems to be something too delicious hahaha, good luck brother! Greetings from Latin America!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not vegan, but I have to admit this looked good and I would probably give it a try if it was in front of me 😋

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks, it was tasty!

$ 0.05
1 year ago