Splinterlands - What I've Learned So Far

0 23

I'm nearing 3 weeks of playing Splinterlands and halfway through my 2nd season. Next season brings some big changes to the game. More of that in another post. But today I bring you an update on my gameplay and tactics so far.

My current ranking is 82922 and I'm firmly in the Bronze league II, bordering on the Bronze league I, depending on my current winning or losing streak! My win ratio is just positive at 50,5% but really needs a big boost here. @engilhramn is really nailing it with the focus chests and end-of-season chests and I need to up my game.

Next, I started to build my first deck. Here I have focused on the Earth Splinter that is green. You can see that I've marked the "Tank" cards below.

It's important to have a good tank. The card "Grund" that I have rented, I like him because he has a high hit rate and can attack twice in 1 round. It is only a shame that he has no shield.

The other thing I have found important is to have some good low-value cards with skills for those low mana games. Here I have Khmer Princess, Fungus Fiend, and Acid Shooter.

Leveling Up

I was also struggling to earn any RP and chests last season and was advised to level up. Therefore I rented Mylor Crowling and it is costing me 19.69 DEC per day which seems very pricey. Im checking the price now and it is available for 12 DEC now. Somehow I'm paying quite a bit for card rentals!

This is a good all-round Summoner that I usually combine with a strong tank and ranged card. This now boosts my RP earned to a decent level each win and I am getting more chests.

In-game Pointers

What has also helped to improve my game is taking notice of the "rules of combat". This seems to change for each game such as no magic or only melee attack and paying attention to this can help your strategy and improve the win ratio.

The 2nd thing I was paying attention to is the "Active Elements". Here some elements arent available in each game and so I cant always play my only Earth splinter deck. This usually means I will lose and get fewer rewards as I don't own or rent the cards.

Rating/Power

So I figured out that when you are winning games, you get something called rating points and you can progress up the leagues when you win and get more.

However, you cannot progress up the league like you can see above because I don't have strong enough cards or enough "power" to progress to that league. Therefore I need to buy or rent some more cards to increase my power.

DEC Energy Capture Rate
In order not to waste energy, it is important to use it up in plenty of time. I currently have usually time in the evening for Splinterlands but not always in the morning. Usually, the energy recovers quite fast and therefore I have found you usually need to play twice per day.

It, therefore, makes sense for me to run my Energy Capture Rate to at least 85% each time so that if I don't get a chance to play in the morning, i am not allowing my energy to sit idle at 100%.

Summary
It's a long and slow process to try and learn the game and with no experience of these card games, it is a bit of a disadvantage.

However, there is a great community of players who have given me some great tips and it has been lots of fun learning and trying to get on top of the game.

What things are important for you in Splinterlands?

Resources:
Title image created in canva using image source

Let's connect:

Twitter: mypathtofire1
Noise.cash: mypathtofire
Discord: mypathtofire#6998

Join my team:

Sponsors of mypathtofire
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.41
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm

Comments