Getting Started in dCity

0 22
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

I have finally taken the plunge and started playing dCity. This will be the fourth play2earn game that I am currently playing. I had initially planned to start dCity first but I kept putting it off... until now!

With great excitement I have started by investing my first 10 Hive into the game by buying SIM tokens.


source

I have resigned myself to the fact that it will take me some time to get the hang of the game and there will be many things to learn. Buying SIM tokens allows me to vote on governance topics which I learned thanks to the great article by ecoinstant here.

To get there, I clicked on City and then Government. This gave me a list of candidates that I could vote for. The only one familiar to me is dadspardan who is currently in 3rd place. I have seen a video of him candidating himself as president.


source

I then made my first activity in the game. I put 100 to vote for Ranking Rewards. This option I understand supports paying holders of SIM token holders a pretty decent APR. This will pay me for holding SIM tokens. As I only have 25k SIM tokens, it probably won't pay me much, but I will keep you updated.


source

The next task that I did was unlock Basic Automation. This cost me 30 SIM and I'm not sure what it does or will do for me. But it's a start.

I understand I need to buy some cards but not sure what I should buy first, that will be something to research. So far that I understand it, I need to buy some Sims (people) and also some buildings for them to live and work. I'm not sure if buying in Hive or SIM is most value for money. Let's check.

One card costs 800 SIM or 4 Hive. Based on the Ask price in the Hive Engine, 800 SIM costs currently 0,34 Hive. Therefore it makes sense to only buy cards with SIM tokens.


source

With my 25k SIM, I could afford around 30 cards. Let's check what other options there are before buying any cards. After checking further on dCity Monstermarket, I see there are some cheaper cards available to buy.

Criminals are available for 199 SIM. They don't sound too desirable to have in my city right now though. A worker is available for just 99 SIM. So this could be useful to buy from here as it is cheaper than the 800 SIM buying from the game directly.

If I'm buying people, they probably need somewhere to live. The costs of apartments and basic homes vary on the monstermarket. A basic home costs 588 SIM. An apartment block costs between 3300 and 255000. One of these may be more practicable than a basic home if I want to grow my city.

There are lots of considerations to make and will take some reading until I find my feet. Until then, over to Mattafix:

Thanks for reading.

2
$ 0.42
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Comments