Coffee is for closers only

0 28
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Anybody who has ever been in sales will know the coffee is for closers scene in Glengarry Glen Ross. Probably one of the best movies of all time.

Alec Baldwin was elevated to legend status with his performance in this role. "I'm here from downtown, I'm on a mission of mercy".

I love sales and love selling. Let me tell you why. There is of course the buzz of earning a commission and hitting some targets. Marking up another sell on the board. Man, I loved making that walk.

You get the thrill you get when you see your pay with the $ made from your selling. Yeah, these are obviously the basics which can motivate people.

But, why I really like sales is the chance you get to engage with people and help them solve problems. It is true that people don't know they even need the products that will help them until you tell them about it.

My first real sales job was in telesales. I moved into it as these guys were making some good money and I thought this could be a good hustle for me to get in on. Why am I working my ass off in customer service and not getting so much in comparison?

I made sometimes hundreds of calls a day and listened to excuse after excuse as to why people didn't want to save money on their existing package or upgrade to have broadband internet! Over 20 years later, can you imagine somebody saying they don't want a fast internet connection or broadband as it was called at the time? People said they wanted to keep a dial-up internet connection!

I was quite naive and it was tough trying to convert people. Even with all the benefits that were clearly obvious. Perhaps the leads were weak? lol, no, the product was for sure needed, but maybe my style was not as good as some of the top closers.

I later moved to a weekend job selling furniture packages and loved it more than the telesales. I was feeling burned out from the telesales repeating the same pitch over and over, so it was refreshing and more relaxing and fun in the furniture store.

Here I found customers wandering around just looking to be sold and to know about the products. Some of the other sales guys were often upstairs in the kitchen having a nap or hiding in the back office. Although I could sell the big kitchens because I wasn't trained, I was cleaning up in the bedroom, living room and ancillary furniture departments. It was so easy just chatting to the customers and helping them choose their furniture.

We now move on 20 or so years and I have come back to sales thanks to my contact with the CTP gang. This time it's an online selling and promoting that you need to do. Lots of talk about list building and getting in front of the customer. The market is also evolving into a blockchain-based model.

What the future holds only Taskmaster can tell us but I'm sure it will also be a great journey and now is the time to get involved. We all know the benefits of the blockchain and particularly hive, but many others don't. That's why we should all try and promote hive as much as we can.

What do you think about selling?

Thanks for reading.

Resources:

Title image created in Canva using imageĀ source

Let's connect:

Twitter: mypathtofire1
Noise.cash: mypathtofire
Discord: SteveHodl#6998

Sponsors of mypathtofire
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Comments