What hides behind the curtain : Sad reality about social media craziness

0 30
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

Indeed, technology brought difference in our lives. From the way we communicate, to the influences that leave a twist in our life styles. A lot of social media platforms are now being massively used by people worldwide, which is a good thing. Keeping up with the current updates is not that hard anymore. By just one click, you'll get to know timely news about the happenings across the globe. Even the kids, and the older ones utilize these platforms for information gathering, entertainment and communication. Wherever you are, the advanced applications will make reaching out with your loved ones possible. For instance, the skype app that can be installed in your laptop. Admittedly, we benefit from social media. Honestly speaking, most of the new generation is being hooked by the trends.

However, we cannot hide the fact that social media has a lot of disadvantages too. Personally, I have been using social media for almost 5 years already. Inside that half a decade, I've gone some changes in different aspects : mental, emotional and even spiritual. I learned a lot of things that shocked my innocence. To be honest, I really wanted to stop using social media. Whenever I read some negative posts, It stresses me out. I believe that it is too bad for my mental health. If I can go back to the day I found out these platforms, I would have cancel making accounts for these. I was a private person before and when I entered the social media world, it seems like I became a little more public.

Aside from that, social media becomes the platform where abuse exists. When someone uploads a photo of himself, some trolls bully the person. Insecurities and anxieties are killing people inside themselves. People make fun of others' mistakes or misdoing. Instead of calling out, they cancel the person who committed something wrong. In my opinion, we should call out the bad act instead of bad mouthing the one who is being criticized, because calling out is an act of care. We sometimes forget the essence of word choice. Different namecalls, curse, and throwing hurtful words to the others. How can we say that social media is still a safe place?

Trends vary every day. Some challenges are inappropriate but in the name of likes,comments and shares, users still hop in with those trends. Sad to think that validation is such a big deal nowadays. People are too thirsty with acceptance from the people they personally do not know. I remember when a stranger sent me a private message, asking me to like her newly upload photo. I was about to send her a lengthy message to tell her that what she has done is not okay. But the moment I almostly pressed the send button, I've decided not to be too harshful. Instead of doing that, I told her that she is definitely beautiful regardless of what others may think about her lipstick, mascara and eyebrow. She is beautiful even without others' compliment. I suddenly thought, are they really happy doing this? Or it just satisfy the craveness of attention?

I also suggest that parents should prohibit their young children to use social media. It must come with consent and guidance. Beware, predators also hide under the dark side of social media. It is better that the young audiences are constantly checked by their guardians, to assure thay they will never be victims of cybercrimes happening online. Another thing, a lot of children are learning from the contents posted on the different sites. I have a 3-year old cousin, and in my surprise, he uttered the phrase "what the f*ck". My aunt and uncle blame themselves that they let my cousin knew about that curse. Until now, we are trying to make him forget the bad speeches he hears on youtube. I am sure that parents out there also agree with this. There's no any single parent that wants their sons and daughter to know about harmful for their mental health.

Influence from social media is a big factor. It changes how we think, how we act, what we believe and what we stand with. People should be really advanced as the social media. Things really come with pros and cons. Just like social media, there is really a good and bad effects. We should maximize this for the essential things that we can benefit from. For education, for entertainment, for communication, and for bringing love to the world wherever we are. I firmly believe that this is created to extend the safe space and to give us knowledge. From now on, let us educate each and everyone with respect. Let us be part of the anti-hate campaigns, be part of the change.

1
$ 4.22
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

Comments