Saving money hacks— try thrifting now!

3 30
Avatar for ms.haleya_
2 years ago

Since I became a teenager, I've also started to be conscious of what I wear. I often browse Instagram, wherein I see outfit inspirations. However, I do not have enough money to buy clothes, most specially the new and branded ones. I only have new set of clothes when my relatives or my parents gift me some. It was okay with me, for I am not that outgoing person. I have tons of big shirts that I got from my elder brother and my father. Most of the time, they allow me to borrow their shirts because they know how I am much comfortable wearing those. My sister, who was also fashion enthusiast that time, became my icon in choosing my taste. Before, she usually tease me with what I wanted to wear, she said that those are too dull or did not fit me at all. That is why I've search and found out a way how to achieve my ideal looks— but doesn't require too much spending.

I live in a city, so a lot of thrift shops are scattered around the metro. I remember the first time we went thrifting, my mother accompanied me and I was overwhelmed with the clothes that seemed to welcome me. The next time, my friend and I bought a denim pants, a jacket and a cardigan. At first of course, I was hesitating to buy stuffs from the thrift stalls because I thought they are already in bad conditions, but shockingly, majority are flawless and some has minimal blemishes like stains, or button defects. Nevertheless, you can still repair them— take them into a laundry and for sure, the stains will be gone. I was amazed on their prices as well. Imagine, I can avail a set of outfit for $2 only. It also depends on your bidding skills. For instance, there were times that I sales talk the sellers and guess what, they agreed right away. Obviously, it is much better if you purchase at least three pieces clothes from their stall so that chances of lower price are higher. Fortunately, there are extra kind sellers that offers freebies. I really love the environment when I go thrifting.

For me to be able to have a budget for thrifting, I save half of my allowance or maybe 1/4 of it each day. Sometimes I have some rackets that I earn money from too. Thrift shops are usually located at supermarkets. So whenever my mother asks me to buy goods from the market, I always head to the nearest thrift shops. You need to bring long patience with you, and of course your time is free. In pre-COvid times, I thrift at least three times a month or it might exceed, pivot on my schedule. Habitually, I go there every Mondays or Weekends, because according to some sellers, those are the days that new things arrive. Upon coming of the clothes, they need to disinfect them, hang them and price them also. There are essential things that you need to consider when thrifting. Firstly, as might be expected, if you are prone to some allergies, better to wear mask. But in my case, I also have a lot of allergies and my skin easily get irritated, but I have never experience allergy due to the clothes that I got from thrifting. But to be sure, just prioritize your safety first. Next, your precious time. If you are in a hurry or you are loaded with task, cancel your thrifting plans for the mean time. Thrifting will be extra enjoyable when you can go through every racks and see the clothes one by one. I had an experience when I have a meeting to attend, but I've become too complacent and thought of thrifting since I need to find an outfit for upcoming thanksgiving. I did not notice the time, it resulted to something bad. I appeared on our meeting too late. So if you are planning to thrift, make sure that you will have enough time to browse the clothes. And also, to consult them and check if they have minimal flaws, if there is any. Before I forget to mention, I also bring eco or tote bags to avoid hoarding plastic bags. It is important to care about our environment. Another thing, thrifting is sustainable. So it means, we benefit from it in many ways.

Your clothes' brand do not matter. As long as you have something to wear, that is important. Especially to those students like me who can' make money on our own, be respectful to our parents' hard works and avoid spending the money they give us to nonsense things. For now, save and think of low maintenance life. A lot of people do not realize that living a simple life will always be the best. Although, I am not saying all us should go thrifting. This is just an alternative way of still having our necessity but do not cost too much. I am proud of myself, and to all people who thrift out there for being fashionable and do not have to spend a lot of money. Always be grateful of what you have, and make the best look out of it. You can still slay despite of the missing tag in your clothes.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ms.haleya_
2 years ago

Comments

Hi! I checked your profile. May tip naman na at first pero di ka naging active after your 2nd week and just published 5 days ago. I think this is the reason why your account was marked as spam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and for how many weeks will it last po? Thank you so much ateee <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ate!! May solusyon po kaya dito ganon? I had break po kasi due to several panic attacks, pinalayo po muna ako sa pc ko huhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago