Irreplaceable school memories that never fade

0 11
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

As a student who is currently learning through the new platforms, I can tell that this is much harder than physical classes. From morning to night time, I am sitting alone in my room, facing the computer. Pencils, coloring materials, pens and a stack of papers are scattered around my desk. That is my everyday set up. Funny to think that I am only a teenager, yet my back pain hurts as if I am already in my 60's. Perhaps, this is the result of a whole day face-to-face with the computer. Sometimes, I am lucky enough to have a 6 hours of sleep. When our teachers don't shower us with lots of task for that week, probably, I could finally spend time to watch some movies. If before I look forward to weekends, now, weekends are also intended for school works.

One thing I also miss, is the bond with my classmates. The cramming moments during finals week, the times we eat together in our school canteen, those are irreplaceable. Recalling the noisy classroom, filled with chitchats, laughter and small yet meaningful talks. I have never imagine that we are in the same room but this time, virtually. If only we have foreseen that this will happen, we should have hang out a little more. We should've stayed a little longer inside our four-cornered classroom. I remember the last day before quarantine was imposed, we did a performance task on one of our subjects. We were in our full costumes, with a bling bling in our faces, proudly representing our section. Some of our classmates have recorded it. Maybe that is why it is important to keep memories in a photograph. I guess, that is the last thing we have accomplished before stepping into the higher year in middle school. By the way, we are block section. We are together for three years already. We are like family, to the point that I spend more time together with them than being with my siblings. We bring cooked meals and we share it to each other. One's snack is everyone's snack. During exam week, we review and review, because we want everyone to pass. One of our teachers before told us an important lesson. "The competition is between yourselves, not with your classmates". Since then, we valued each other a lot more. Our friendship is much vital than high grades. Honestly, that what gave me courage to continue― knowing that I have my company who is willing to strive with me. There were days that I really felt unmotivated, but when I am inside our classroom, my classmates gave me a little extra push I badly needed.

As an extrovert, this set up does not suit me. I used to participate in discussions whatever subject it is. I am known as our section's most talkative girl. I love having talks with my seatmates, sharing my breakfast story and the heavy traffic that I have encountered before going to school. In this new set up which is online classes, I feel like I'm talking to the computer. I can't express unless my teacher allows me to turn my mic on. Unlike before, my teacher will point and call me, I am much comfortable with this interaction.

But do not get me wrong, I am still grateful after all. I have the privilege to continue my studies even if we are facing health crisis. I don't want my parents' hard works go to vain. I've said to myself, I will continue regardless how hard the challenges I may face. For my future, to make my parents proud, to make myself happy and of course to be the hope of our nation.

To those students like me out there, don't lose hope. Continue fighting for your dreams. This pandemic should not hinder us from chasing our fantasies in life. I,myself, admit that there are draining days to the point that I want to quit schooling. But a realization suddenly hit me. I should not waste the chance that was given to me. I firmly believe, education is a treasure and no one can steal it from you. May this give you a little motivation to carry on. We will get there, never quit. We may now experience lots of breakdowns, but it will be worth it. I know, paper and digital works are endless as of now, but the time will come when we no longer need to submit lengthy test papers. Time will come when we no longer worry about an exam, we no longer need to stay up all night just to read and read. Trust the process, always. The stack of reviewers, almost failed quiz marks, eye bags and countless cups of coffee, will be paid off. In order for us to succeed, we must not be afraid of failing.

So if you see this, you are reading this for a purpose. May this serve as a reminder for you to fight and never stop believing in the beauty of your dreams.

1
$ 3.70
$ 3.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

Comments