Fierce warrior : How I survived bullying

0 13
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

I was a shy, quite girl before. Because of that, I was usually the victim of those bullies back when I was in grade school. I did not fight back, every time I hear their footsteps, knowing that they are about to attack me again, I just lay my head down and start to feel the fright inside me. I did not know who to call. Even my seatmates distance themselves away from me to avoid being included. That was okay. I thought.

For almost 2 months, I hid all of that from my parents. I did not want to be a burden to them. But things got worsen. Still, I chose to hide it from my parents. Until one of my classmates had the guts to tell everything to my Mother after our class dismissal. He secretly talked to her while I was not around. My mother seemed to be shocked and felt thankful to that classmate of mine. Because of him, my family has known everything. My father wanted the bullies to be called from our principal's office to teach them a lesson. But I insisted not to. I just wanted peace. To clear things up, my mother transferred me to another school. At first, I was comfortable with the ambiance. The people around me were nice. Later on, there was also a girl who are too competitive. I admit, I excelled in that class. Perfect scores, high recitation points, I had those. Maybe that is why she was threatened. She bullied me verbally, and I did not fight back. For the nth time, I let others to took advantage against me. I remember, the worst thing she did to me was stabbing my right eye with a pencil. Fortunately, it did not pierced through. My mother did not let that slip. She communicated with my teachers and the guidance councilor. I was so down that time, I felt weak. I felt useless. I had decided to transfer to another school, once more. There were times that I thought of not going to school anymore, but my faith was strong enough. I motivated myself with my dreams and inspiration.

Everything went smooth in my third school. I met nice people, kind classmates, and healthy environment. The first time I've entered that room, I did not know what will my experience will be. I did not expected to be treated nicely. But one thing that I have learn, is to stand by myself. I have realized that I became too kind to people who gave me anxieties. I learned to fight for myself and composing it in order for me not to cry in front of others. Since then, I became fierce. Much stronger version of myself. I never let anyone to step my rights on. Up until now, I am still working with my traumas. I try to cope with those everyday. Nevertheless, my experience taught me a lot of lessons that I will treasure forever.

I am now an advocate of anti-bullying. I join different seminars, webinars, and acts that aim to stop the harassment in schools. Bad acts should be banned from grade school to colleges. Schools are the second home of the students. They must feel loved, nurtured and safe. Teachers have the obligations to look after the students' behavior. If the students feel extra comfortable in their classrooms, they will be extra motivated in their class participation as well. Aside from it, parents must also advice their children to be kind and never do something bad towards their schoolmate.

So I encourage you to always be empathetic towards other people. Even those we encounter in a coffee shop, train station, and inside the markets. We never know what they carry inside their hearts. The best thing we can do is to be extra patient with them. If we treat each other with respect, how colorful the world could be.

3
$ 3.67
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

Comments