What do you think is most important after waking up in the morning?

1 18
Avatar for mostakim.ahmed
3 years ago

Of course, holding the phone in hand and pulling down the notification bar above. Then unknowingly discovering a little later that I'm scrolling through Facebook, or watching video after video on Instagram. An hour goes by before I know anything. I know how. And the realization is that, for some reason, I can't feel the wonderful mood that woke me up!

When I go somewhere, I think more about how I can take a beautiful picture than how much I enjoy myself. Somewhat square frame, because on Instagram the picture goes in that format. Or many times it is seen that I can't finish the book of my choice even if I think I will. Because in the blue-and-white world of Facebook, I'm wasting my time arguing with someone else, but in the end he doesn't listen to me, nor do I understand him!

When Facebook first came, or went much earlier, orkut or myspace, people started using it for unadulterated pleasure. Finding old friends, posting some pictures, writing on each other's walls, that's all. However, these days, social media brings us the news. All the breaking news, new songs or any rumors, everything comes in one plate. Great like delicious food on offer. So every morning, as a rule to stay up-to-date, let's run to the social apps first ...

And at the end of the day, if I get a lot of likes in a post or a comment, then the rest of us are thinking exactly like us. But this pseudo-reality actually surrounds us like a net. Because if you notice, the same news does not appear in everyone's newsfeed. And social media algorithms never show you the news of people with whom you have less comments or conversations. So at the end of the day you didn't know the reality. The only thing you know is what you want to know (!), Not disagreements or thoughts. Not different events.

So, social media has overwhelmed us so much that some people are trying to get out of this white-and-blue world. And that is the origin of a new term: 'Social Media Detox'.

Many are doing things like reducing the number of people coming on social media, or zeroing in on coming, even deleting accounts a few steps ahead. But what is the reason? And why do you need to do something?

Just as ‘detox’ means removing the effects of harmful things, so does social media detox. Those who want to go through this process reduce their use of social media, 7 days 14 days or 30 days, some people are seen for almost a year, almost shutting down social media. And with real life, the addiction grows so much that many people not only log out, but also remove the apps on their phone, or delete the account! The question is why do that?

If you find yourself spending a lot of time on social media, you are doing something that is causing your other work to stop. Or your personal frustration of using social media is overwhelming you, then understand; In fact, you spend more time here than you need to, which you don't need, or better yet, you have more important work to do.

Honestly, this world has pulled us in such a way that we really have a hard time thinking outside of it. If we calculate at the end of the day what we have actually done, come here, as,

- Liked the picture.

- Saw the video.

- I made some comments, and

- I've seen people's feeds.

Behind the filter, I was disappointed to see the face of a familiar person and the pictures of him being arranged in his own way. Or else everyone is doing something and I come out upset thinking I am not doing anything. But I pulled the phone again before 10 minutes. I have refreshed the homefeed repeatedly. Because, the number of hole notification icons or getting a new feed brings a short-term feeling of love in the brain. And gradually our brain becomes accustomed to this ‘treat’.

So when we get bored we keep scrolling with the phone, hours go by but we keep scrolling. Junk information like fast food or junk food starts to accumulate in our brain. Gradually the use of the brain decreases, or the brain itself decreases, because there is no need to do much. Reading a book is like creating a world in your mind, watching a video but not. Seeing the cheap, flashy headlines, I jumped into the news, wrote two pens and shared it. Or if I bring a hashtag with a picture, I don't think my responsibility is over. But at the end of the day, the only question is, did I do anything at all? If I come back one foot and see my own day, what did I get from there? The question remains, the answer doesn't come ... that's why you sometimes need a break to get yourself back from a defocused life and purpose. And we need to rearrange our digital habits.

Last month I felt the need for ‘Social Media Detox’ for a number of tasks. As a result, I don't have a temporary break from online life by letting a few people close to me (with whom I have virtual regular conversations, and with whom I work) know about it, and arrange for me to receive emails and WhatsApp if needed. The apps I used a lot are deleted from the phone. If there is no urgent need, I stop touching the phone. I don't stay online for no reason except working on a laptop.

The first two, three days felt a little monotonous but gradually I could really concentrate on all my work, writing. Emotional stability comes. The mind is fluttering. More free time pie. NGT levels decrease. The mornings became quite long. And I don't think I'm worried about FOMO (FOMO - "Fear of Missing Out."), But I'd like to learn some new habits in real life, like the days of abandoned letters or emails. 'It feels good to get a short-length mail. I am able to carry out the tasks with deadlines. I can sleep for a long time. It was as if I was able to take a break from a long depressing relationship and take a deep breath.

Mentally I started to feel really good. Too. And that's when I decided to limit my time to come online, but at the same time I must write and share this experience, so that many more like me can take a break from the social life of colorful posters and see the real green life.

If you find yourself in this situation, if social media is really the cause of your depression, frustration, instability and negativity, then ‘social media detox’ should be effective in bringing back positive energy, attention and stability.

You can definitely take a break from ...

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for mostakim.ahmed
3 years ago

Comments

just amazing your concept

$ 0.00
3 years ago