World Chocolate Day

3 29
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Hey guys! I wanted to post each day this month, but already failed. Yesterday I didn't posted anything, I was planning too, but I was bit tired, and to be honest a little bit demotivated. Rusty is not visiting me, and I accidently made one big time, so this months I am below 1$ earnings here. Which is bit demotivating just because I dedicate time and effort in writing, and yet I earned more on some other sites that doesn't require any effort at all. But I won't give up, don't worry.

Today is World Chocolate Day and I saw this by accident, and decided to change my plan and write about chocolate instead. If you ask me do I prefer salty or sweet food, I would probably choose salty, but I can't say that I don't like good chocolate. When I come to sweet things, if I am craving it I want it to be very sweet, so I usually chose chocolate or ice-cream (that is very sweet). But I do love many kinds of chocolate as well.

For example, I like weird combinations, like sweet-salty, so one of my favorite combination is salty caramel, and therefor, I also love it in chocolate. One of my favorite chocolates is the one with peanuts and salty caramel, and it's sweet-salty explosion of taste, so good. But that one is on the expensive side, and I don't buy it very often. Other one that I like is black chocolate. I know many people are not a fan of it, because it tastes more bitter than sweet, but I don't mind it, on the contrary, I love it. Also, any combination with it works for me, for example orange/black chocolate, or another one of my favorite: mint - dark chocolate. That one is probably my favorite chocolate combination, but not every that I tried was the best. The best I had of that type is not in the stores anymore, unfortunately. And what about you? What is your favorite flavor of chocolate?

Let's talk about chocolate more. Here are some interesting facts about chocolate:

  • Europe Accounts for More Than Half of the World's Chocolate Consumption - This is interesting because Europe population is not biggest in the world, it's not even second, so to think half of chocolate is consumed here, you can know we have some sweet tooth in the Europe.

  • There are 4 types of chocolate -RAW (made out of unroasted cocoa beans), DARK (it needs to have at last 35% of cocoa solids, I wouldn't count if it has less than 50%), MILK (sweet chocolate that also contains milk powder or condensed milk), WHITE (made of cocoa butter)

  • The Most Valuable Chocolate Bar in the World Sold for $687 - Pretty crazy amount for one bar, and if you wonder why it was this expensive, well, it was 100 years old. This makes it even more crazy, because it wasn't eaten. And what use of chocolate if you don't eat it, right?

  • Chocolate has been prepared as a drink for nearly all of its history - It is interesting to think about it, and how people could enjoy magic of chocolate even so back then in the past.

  • Until the 16th century, no European had ever heard of the popular drink - Even though there are traces of chocolate use even before Christ, it was not present in Europe until the 16th century. I guess this explains first fact, and European just decided to make it up now, for not using chocolate so long.

Today was World Chocolate Day but irony is, I didn't had a chocolate today at all. What about you, did you ear any chocolate today?

Photos included in this article (including lead image) are from Unsplash.com

Thank you for reading my post ^^

3
$ 1.08
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

Yes I read yesterday about this great day to celebrate!! I love dark dark chocolate!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I didn't knew it was chocolate day but somehow I got to taste one of the old chocolates which were out of our Market, probably I have eaten that chocolate after 5 or more years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh what a coincidence, you celebrated it good then :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago