Travelling by train

2 9
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Ever since railway was working again and fixed, I started traveling by train, rather than bus. In this article I will write about few pros and cons for travelling by the train here, in Serbia. Before, railways were old and bad, and so were the trains, they often broke downs as well, and they were really slow. But a few years back, they fixed it, and there are new trains now, much better, new, more comfortable. At that moment travelling by bus and train was pretty much the same in time, so I decided to try train, and even though there were some cons, and they still are, I decided to stick with train, and here is why. I am comparing it only to bus travel here, not car.

Pros for travelling by train:

  • More space - I didn't have much trouble with space in bus either, but no doubt, there is much more space in train, there are more options where to sit, and even 4 chairs with little table. You have more space for stuff as well.

  • Less expensive - Train is much cheaper than bus for the same distance, plus, you don't have to pay for your baggage (in bus you pay for each suitcase that you don't carry with you to the seat)

  • No breaks - train stops at stations, some have more, some have fewer stations (fast train stops only at bigger places) but other than that, there are no breaks. Bathroom is available in train.

  • No reservations - this can be a pro and a con as well. I always had trouble with seats in bus, coz someone sites by the number or ticket, someone don't and then people make trouble. There is no reservations in train, so you can sit where ever you want, but this can be problematic in time of the holidays because there is so many people and you need to go early to have seat.

  • No traffic - some trains are crossing so you may wait for that to happen, but usually it's predicted by the schedule. Other then that there is no traffic or waiting for other stuff.

  • Beautiful views - trains usually don't go through the city, but pass by them, and the route I go by has wonderful nature and views.

Cons for travelling by train:

  • No internet - even though the train has its own Wi-Fi, it's not working of course, and the network is really weak on the railway and there are many tunnels.

  • Problems - if train brakes, all the other will be stopped as well, and there is not much you can do before it's fixed. The railway is outside of cities and sometimes even far way from the road, so you can be stuck in one place for hours.

  • Reaching main station - in Belgrade, even thought they moved main station years ago, city transport is not yet well-connected with it. You can either change few buses, or go 0,5 - 1 km by foot. It is not too much, I know, but if you carry a lot of stuff, it is.

  • Schedule - there are not too many departures and arrival in a day, you need to organize your time well if you have 2 way tickets. And trains are sometimes late.

  • Two-way ticket - ticket for your return is only valid for 14 days, on shorted distances even less.

With all pros and cons, I decided to go by the train, and I used bus only 2 or 3 times in the mean time, due to some specific reason. Otherwise, I always recommend train, and most people that I know use it and they are happy with it.

Now days, very popular subject is new very fast train. I plan to travel with it soon, and if I do, I will share my experience with it with you.

Today I went home by train, and all photos I used in this article are original and taken today and edited by me. Thank you for reading my post!

3
$ 0.45
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments

Everything you wrote is true. Trains always evoke some sad emotion in me. I do not know why. But traveling by train in Serbia is like an adventure, you never know what to expect. 🤣 I'm going to work by train. And it arrives faster than the bus.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, I also love it no matter the circumstances, but have to say I wasn't stuck like my sister for 3 hours 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago