The longest day in the year

0 47
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

No, this is not in a metaphorical way, this is actually in the literal way. This morning, at 11:13 am, summer officially started on the North half of the planet Earth. Also, today is the longest day in the year. Sun raised at 4:52am, and it went down at 8:28 pm. Making the total of 15 hours and 36 minutes of sunlight. For the part of Earth where I live in, somewhere it's longer, somewhere shorter. This is due to Earths position, making the North part of the Earth closest to the sun. It is called summer solstice. In my language it has a more simple name, and in translation it means summer long-day. This day is also the first day of the winter for the Southern part of Earth's hemisphere. In some countries this day is referred to as midsummer, but here summer is just starting by calendar, and it will last till 23rd of September. Climate is changing a lot in the latest years, so maybe it feels like summer is longer sometimes, and we have hot days after 23rd of September as well. From today on, days will be just shorter and shorter until winter solstice, or as we call it here: short-day.

Here it was a warm and hot summer day. It is not too hot yet, I believe it will be hotter, but one of hotter days do far this year. I wish I was somewhere near water like this frog that you see below, but instead, I was all day inside, in my small apartment. But it was a good day overall, I am not going to complain. You can see the temperature was 27C at 8pm, so quite hot for that time, but as it is expected at this time of the year. For me, it was hottest for sure, because I turned on the air conditioning more than any other day before this year. I am not a fan of air conditioning, and in home I don't even have it or use it. But it's different being in the house in the small city, or in the apartment in a big city full of asphalt. However, I am in the small apartment, so I can turn it on for a short period and cool down the room, so it's fine. But if I start to sneeze, I know it is too much of air conditioning. How are you cooling yourself in the hot summer days? Are temperature already too high in your place? For me, nights are the worst. I just open all windows and make draft (which kills here in Serbia, if you didn't know, just kidding, just kidding, but it's a myth). But some nights are too hot and unbearable. Luckily, at the time I will probably be at my home where nights are much colder than here.

The next few days will be busy for me, but I will try to keep up with my writing. I really want it to become my routine, so I can do it daily with no problem. Last days weren't the best for me here, but hopefully things will change.

All photos used in this article are original, they are screenshots of my weather app. As well as the lead photo, it is photo that I took last summer on Ada Ciganlija.

Thank you for reading my post ^^

5
$ 0.78
$ 0.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.03 from @Musician
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments