Spectacle at early morning sky

1 36
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

This post was planned for yesterday, but I was so tired last night, I feel asleep before I wanted to, and just couldn't wake up enough to do anything, so I just stayed in bed. So, on yesterday's early morning, 7 planets along with the moon were almost lined up in the sky. Not only that, but also the moon was among them. All seven planets were lined up, but only five were visible with naked eye only. Those would be Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn and Mars. For the remaining two, Neptune and Uranus, a telescope or good binoculars is necessary.

Since I was so tired, of course, I slept long after the sun raised, and to see this spectacle, it was necessary to be up before the Sun of course (about 45 minutes), so I missed it. But, I knew that this will last for few days, until 27th of June, so there is still chance for you and me to see it. It is summer, so weather and clear sky shouldn't be a problem. But my problem is my position, I live kind of turned to the West and a little down hill, and to have better view of the East I would need to change location. Since it's before sunrise event, it's also hard for me to go anywhere with public transportation, as it mostly doesn't work that early. I thought of going to my sister's place, because she lives on a higher floor than me, but she is also turned to West side. I will think about it, maybe I try to see it tomorrow anyway.

However, I like these types of things, mostly related to moon, but anything space related is interesting to me. I like eclipses, supermoons, watching shooting stars... everything is interesting to me, and I want to read about it, if not see it. Because many of these phenomena are tightly related to your location on the Earth, and not everything is visible everywhere, unfortunately. Which is weird because Earth is supposed to be flat, right? Just joking, let's not go into that.

Anyway, I wanted to share a photo of how it looks, but the photo I liked too most was shared on Instagram, and I can't take that. All other photos I found were not so good, and it was not shown well how it looks. Lucky, I realized I can make screenshot of stellarium.org which is great site, that shows you realistic sky in 3D just like you would see it with your naked eye, at the moment. Since sunrise is not yet here, for about 4 hours, it doesn't show all planets above the horizon, and since it's been one day later, it's not as lined up as it was yesterday, but you get the point. Another thing, since it shows only what you can see with the naked eye, you can't see Uranus and Neptune, so I added them as dots, Uranus is blue one, and Neptune yellow. I am not 100% sure about position, but should be around there somewhere.

Screenshot from stellarium.com

Seven planets and moon, sounds amazing to me. If you have a chance in the next days, I recommend you to try to see it, there is still time till Monday. I am not sure when will be the next time that something like this is possible to see. I just hate the fact that I might miss it, even though I know it is now I am not sure will I have a good location to see it. So if you are turned to the East, and early bird, look for in the sky :)

Lead photo is from unsplash.com

Photo included in this article is screenshot from stellarium.org site.

Thank you for reading my post ^^

4
$ 1.06
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

I love the first light of the day, before all that moving process I went usually to run close to the beach very early, what a spectacle yes!

$ 0.01
1 year ago