Spam and scam emails

3 21
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Today I received a very weird email. I saw the notification, and the subject was "confirmation" so I was confused right away. As I knew I didn't order anything, this made no sense. Even if I did it somehow buy mistake (which is very unlikely), it wouldn't be written in English. Usually I ignore email notifications, because I receive so many on daily bases, and these are mostly subscriptions and news, nothing important, but this time I entered email right away.

On the photo below, you can see how email looked like. It was very simply, almost empty one. It said it was from "The Home Depot", but thing is, we don't have it here. The email itself included only two things, a link and photo that said, "Congratulations! You have been chosen to participate in our Loyalty program for free", as well as the newest model of some kind of drill. And of course, when you look at the actual email it came from, it's some nonsense: noreply@xsgcbshrirtphlsphukg...

It was very obvious it was a scam email, but I was surprised how bad it was done. There was no text at all, and it doesn't clearly say that you won anything specific and worth of clicking an unreliable link from a very unreliable email.

I know these things are very common, but what surprised me the most, was the fact that this email was marked as an IMPORTANT one. It is very strange that email like that didn't go straight to spam, specially with email domain ridiculous like that. But not only it didn't go to the spam, it was marked as important. So strange.

The email address on which I received this email is my most used one, and I have it connected to many things, but recently, I didn't sign up for any new sites with it. But it doesn't matter, scammers can find it on sites that you don't even use anymore.

Actually, it already happened to me, and I knew exactly from which site they took my email. That email said my username and password (probably thinking I use the same password and username on many sites), so that they confirm that they send it directly and specifically to me. It said they have video of me (and they were somehow sure it was me) doing "adult stuff" in front of the web camera. They threatened they will send the video to 8 of my friends if I don't believe it, and they will send it to everyone if I don't pay them exactly $2478 (it was 2000 and something, but I remember it was specific amount, not round number) but, in BTC. They even said I can look it up if I don't know how to pay in BTC. Of course, I knew it was all very fake, and as much as I love to joke with scammers I didn't reply, just in case. Also, I was lucky that I used that password on only one site, so I immediately removed my account there.

However, this email was in the spam folder, and I saw it by accident. I wasn't lucky with "Prince of Nigeria" and people who are dying, so they search for random people on internet to give them their fortune, but my sexy video almost went viral. I am joking, but I know some people, unfortunately, do fall for tricks like this. Specially older people, who are not so educated in this field. But everyone should be careful, and I always say, don't click on unknown links and don't give your email to strangers online who asks for it for whatever reason. Of course, not any other personal information as well, credit cards,... but I hope that goes without saying.

Have you received any interesting scam email? Was it ever marked as important?

Photo I included in article is original, and lead photo is from Unsplash.com

Thank you for reading my post, and have a great weekend ahead :) ^^

5
$ 0.30
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

I got that type of email a lot of time. But when I got it I reply to do fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it can be fun to joke with them sometimes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get those a lot too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago