Shortest day in a year

0 14
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

When I say this, I don't mean the shortest day by daylight hours, but by hours in general. This is because last night we moved the clock one hour backwards. I know it's common in some part of the world, but it's not done in the same time, and it's not done in the entire world. The reason behind this is to have an hour more of daylight in summer, so we have sun until 8 o'clock in summer. But also, in the winter, clock in moved one hour forward and daylight is very short, but also it's not dark in 8 in the morning. We move the clock during the last weekend in March, at 2 am Sunday morning. And also same thing happens in last weekend of October.

Some people may argue this, and think it's just moving clock, and you don't lose an hour of time, but technically you do lose it. For example, if you plan to lay down in 12 and get up in 8, you will sleep 7 hours. Yes, you can go to bed earlier, or get up later, because it's the weekend, but you do lose one hour. For me, it doesn't make much difference, today I just went to the walk a bit later because I knew the sun will be out an hour more than yesterday, and it actually worked well for me. And also in the winter I don't mind having an hour more to sleep, hah. Though I wish it wasn't so dark so early during the day in the winter. But I do know that some people take this very bad, and it affects their body, it's not just about an hour more or less.

All in all, I had a nice day today, I was outside, enjoying nature, nice weather, spring, and some positive energy in the air. Kids laughing and playing, dogs running, bees working... It's really beautiful to see nature waking up. I also look forward to longer daylight, and it will be longer each day till June 22. I am glad that I used it today, because even thought today temperature was high, and it's predicted for next days as well, believe it or not, they also predict show next weekend. Snow in April isn't unusual here in the past few years, and it usually last only a day, but still I was hoping I would have a nice weekend at home, enjoying outside. On the other hand, it's always amazing to see spring blossoms with snowflakes all over it, and how much nature is amazing. To think that tiny flowers can survive such hard weather when nice weather should already be here. Just hope it won't be big minus, because that can hurt fruits that has started to grow.

Hope you all had great weekend as well and I wish you great week in advance :)

PS: Photo I used is mine, its big clock in my home :)

3
$ 1.11
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @Vika09
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments