My dog attempted suicide

4 22
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

A day ago, I had a restless night, thanks to my crazy dog. Now that danger is away, I can joke about it, but I was quite scared at the time. I will tell you the story and what happened, how my dog attempted suicide. Of course, he didn't do it on purpose, but he could have killed himself.

It was evening time, and we had a guest, so I put some cookies on a plate as serving. There were two type of cookies and maybe 4-5 of each. One was bigger and one smaller and round. At some point, I left and went to my room, and I remember that I heard Teddy (my dog) in the hallway.

After some time, the guest left, and my mom was seeing our guest off. Then I heard Teddy going downstairs, and I left my room to stop him, thinking he will go outside after them, but he just went downstairs, so it was fine. I entered the living room and saw the cup of coffee on the edge of the table, about to fall. It was weird, so I went to move it towards the middle of the table. As the table is short, and we have a big dog, we keep all things on the table move toward the middle, so he wouldn't kick anything with tale or by accident.

When I moved the cup, I noticed that the plate with cookies was empty, but also shiny, apropos, wet. Right away, I thought Teddy licked it, and that he maybe ate one or two that were left there. He never does it, so even if the plate was empty, and he only licked it, it was still strange because he never does it. He never takes anything from the table, the one in the living room or any other.

My dad entered the room and I told him what I think happened. He immediately noticed there is a little spoon that was used for sugar, on the floor, so we were even more sure that Teddy was on the table. Mom came back, so we asked here how many cookies were left and how much they ate. She said almost all left and as she saw the empty plate she screamed because she realized what happened.

To sum up. Teddy was in the hallway. As my mom was leaving with a guest, he saw an opportunity and used those two minutes to enter the living room, eat all the cookies that were on the table (we calculated that there were at last 3 of each of them, so 6 in total), leaving almost no trails at all, except the spoon on the floor and cup moved, there was no crumbs at all, so I imagine he just swallowed it. And then he left the crime scene immediately. Beside him doing something very dangerous, I have to say, he pulled it out almost perfectly.

Why was this such a big deal? Because cookies were with chocolate, and chocolate is deadly to dogs. Lucky it wasn't chocolate bars but cookies, so it was not all chocolate. But if a dog eats too much of it, there is no medicine. The only solution is to cause him to vomit. It was nighttime and there was no vet to take him to. I started googling and as soon as I start reading I realized it was a bad idea. I was more and more scared and didn't know what to do. Finally, I read that for a big dog like mine, it takes much, much more chocolate to be deadly. It should have calmed me down, but still I barely slept that night thinking about him and checking him.

You may say it's our fault, and we shouldn't have left chocolate cookies that he can reach. And you may be right. But also he is an adult dog, living inside with no limitations. Our kitchen is open, and he has access to it any time, same as any other table in the house, and he was taught not to touch food or anything from it, and he never did it. And I don't know what got into him, but from now on we won't leave food that he can't eat in places he can reach.

I know some people even think it's fine for dogs to eat sweets and chocolate, and "nothing will happen", but for smaller dogs it can be very bad and even deadly. And would you risk it even if it was "nothing"? I know I wouldn't.

I tried to make a funny story out of it, but I would also like to use this as warrant for all of you who have dogs and many didn't know about it, or just to take more care, just in case. Keep your doggos safe.

All photos used in this article are original and taken by me. Teddy is on both of them.

Thank you for reading my post ^^

4
$ 0.79
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mihhaimarrian80
$ 0.05 from @Daliana
+ 2
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments

So what did this sweet criminal got as a punishment? Or it just got away with a warning!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No chocolate for him for the rest of the life :D Joke aside, we brought him back to the crime scene, and he got yelled at, and got extra grooming, he hates it. But it's hard to punish dog if you are not present as he do the crime, just because they don't know what they are punished for. He is old enough, and I think he got the point what he did wrong, so hopefully, it will not happened again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that everything is fine with your puppy and it was a shame to suffer something bad from such a banality however, useful information will be provided🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you ^^ Yes, it's good to know, so we can stop it from happening :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago