Let me tell you about Gimfest

0 22
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Happy weekend and Happy Easter to all of you who celebrate it! Have a great day you all ^^

Last weekend I was home, and it was supposed to be a regular weekend for me, when I am home, I didn't have any extra plans. But Sunday morning, a friend called to wake me up so that we can go to the Gimfest. I didn't even know it was happening last weekend, and I hesitated a bit should I go, since I didn't have much time before I head to the village, as usual on Sunday, but it was a very nice day and I decided to go.

Let me tell you a little bit about Gimfest and what it is. Firstly, the name comes from two words, "gimnazija" and "festival". We have specific high schools here, like medical high school, art high school... but high school that is not so specific and has all the subjects you had in primary school (plus some more) is called gimnazija. It is high school that I also attended. So Gimfest is festival of natural and social sciences and art, that is held in high school and organized by high school students with some help of teachers.

It is an event that is prepared for 14 years now, and it always attracts many visitors as well as participators. Each classroom has it own theme, some of them are regular and repeat each year, such as math, physics, chemistry, a very popular game room... But some are special for each year, like there was an escape room this year, which I didn't see previously, mythology room... It is a perfect event for the younger audience to come and discover fun sides of science and maybe develop interest in some specific subject. It is also fun for former students to come and see professors and remember school days. When you walk through halls, you will see arrows pointing which room is where.

I will share some photos that I took.

There was one stand with two adorable mice. They were supposed to turn the wheel, but they were too little to do it. However, they stayed as attraction, and for sure they did that job amazing. No one cared that much about physics when they saw these cuties and all questions were about them, as if it were a biology stand 😁

Beside game room there are many stands where your interaction is needed which makes it much more interesting for everyone, weather are you taking some psychology tests, testing your skills or brain. Some even offer candies as reward. There are some cool places to take photos and I took some of my friends, but I covered their faces for privacy 😅 You could take photo as Asterix and Obelix and also there was some other places with flowers and other wall decoration that are made for taking photos for memories.

When I was part of this event I was in charge of decoration with some other friends, we helped others if they needed to draw something or to make posters or any kind of crafted decoration, and I loved to see some nice and creative work this year too, I loved these clouds. When we decorated it years ago, most popular were divers with fire extinguishers as oxygen bottles, and everyone loved it. Here is how it looked.

It was weird to be back in those halls now that I am not a student anymore, but also wonderful to remember old days and to see that younger generations maintain the tradition and still organize the Gimfest. After the festival, we went for a cup of coffee, and I was on my way to the village where I spent the most of my day.

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you had an amazing weekend ^^

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments