Happy Bitcoin pizza day!

4 18
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Today is one very interesting day in crypto world. It is funny, but also an important one. A few days ago, a friend sent me a post about this event, that happened 12 years ago. In fact, it all started a few days before. All the way back in 2010, on 18th of May, programmer from Florida, Laszlo Hanyecz wanted to trade 10 000 Bitcoins for two pizzas. It was 4 days later, that he posted on the forum, letting know everyone that transaction was made, with picture of him with his kids and two pizzas that he got.

I tried to find the original post, but there is no info on what forum it was, and since it was 12 years ago, it is quite possible that the forum doesn't exist today, let alone post. However, if I find it later on, I will include it, and update the article.

This transaction, beside being funny and interesting, is important because it was the very first real world, known, bitcoin transaction. Laszlo sold Bitcoin to someone named Stardivus. Supposedly, he didn't hold all that Bitcoin throughout these twelve years, but he used it in order to travel.

I am not sure how long he hold his Bitcoin, but, Bitcoin reached $1 in 2011. Even if he sold it all at that time, he would have 10 000$, which, I suppose, most of you will agree, isn't small amount at all.

When I heard this story, my initial reaction was "Oh boy, if he only knew, or left some of those Bitcoins, or even just one". But then I thought about it, and I imagine he had much more Bitcoins at the time. He (Laszlo), claims that he doesn't regret this transaction, as well as Stardivus, who is happy to be part of history and this event.

I am not even gonna bother to calculate how much would 10 000 Bitcoin would be worth at it;s highest point, or even today, with crypto so down. Main thing is that both participants are fine with this =, and happy that they took part in first know Bitcoin transaction.

Also it was bit crazy for me to thing how this happened 12 years ago, which means Bitcoin is even older than that. I learned about it much later, in 2014. or 2015, probably, but feels like it was 5 years ago. But crypto is in our lifes for a while now.

What would you trade 10 000 Bitcoin for, back in 2010, or today?

Photo I usded is original and taken by me.

Thank you for reading my post^^

PS: Due to internet problems, it was posted bit later.

6
$ 2.84
$ 2.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 2
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

I keep seeing bictcoin pizza everywhere What's going on Can I have a bite too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess we all that have some bitcoin have a little bite of one huge Bitcoin pizza :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was all over twitter yesterday and made me super upset lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I need to be active on twitter, it seems all the news about crypto are there hah I also saw there were some giveaways about this last year, but this year looks like people fotgot about it :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago