Elections in Serbia

0 12
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Today was Election day in Serbia. Citizens voted for a new president but also for a parliament, and in some places, also, there were local elections. Voting is a citizen's right, but also a duty. I completely agree with it. Everyone should vote, not matter for whom. Women were fighting for so long to have right to vote, I say I own to them to be able today to vote. And I use my right when ever I can. But today, these elections are very important because we are fighting against a dictator that has been in authority for 10 years. The only reason he is still "on the throne" is because many people are manipulated and brainwashed because he controls 90% of media, or they simply have to vote because they are afraid of losing a job. Other than my brainwashed grandparents who are blindly believing media, I don't know anyone who is in his right mind and happy with this president, unless they have some huge advantage of it (like good job and money).

In the past 10 years there were so many scandals and just when you think there is no more, there is. Just when you think it can't be worse - trust me, it can. I personally don't like politics, and I am not interested in it at all, but it's something that, like it or not, affects everyone's lives. If you live in a good and organized country, politics is not something you need to worry about. Unfortunately, here, when I hear all the nonsense and criminal and lies, and afraid blackmailed people... you can't avoid it and say that you don't care about it. Imagine your president owns all media, and he is constantly all over the TV, that it's ridiculous, so what he did is use that in his campaign. You can hear everyone complaining about seeing him everywhere, as if he is everywhere, even in the fridge, so he makes video where he is in the fridge. Yes, this is not a joke.

All you hear all the time is people complaining about many things, about life here, about whet great leader does, and yet, he is still most voted. How? Firstly, not many more than 50% of voters actually vote. And then, cheating, paying people, blackmailing people, dead people voting, people voting multiple times, and so on... Today during elections, in many places you could find people with voter lists, checking who voted. Even underage kids, who were probably paid $10 and sandwich to do so. It's really, really sad, and I am so angry, because I feel hopeless and like I can't do anything in a situation that simply isn't right, fair, moral. Even before results today, something odd happened. Republican election commission said that they will not say preliminary results today, and they will not say anything more tonight. This never happened in the last 20 years or so. Another extremely odd thing is, that there were crowds in many, many places in Serbia and in Belgrade, yet somehow turnout is slightly bigger than previous years. Even an hour after polling places were closed, there are still people waiting to vote, because the crowd is so big.

I can't say I expect too much from these elections, I wouldn't be surprised if they steal them again, but I am hoping we will have a second round. If not, I imagine protests will happen again, and I will be among them. Not because I want to, but because I have to. I don't want to live in a country where mafia and criminals are in power, and where one man acts as if he owns everyone and everything.

Photo I used as lead image is from Unsplash.

Thanks for reading my post ^^

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments