Earthquake alert

2 22
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Hello guys, hope you are all doing good. I wanted to write about last night, there was an earthquake. I was watching a TV show, and I was alone with my mom. At some point I felt a bit sleepy and probably fall a sleep a little. But then I felt little movement, and I saw a shadow from the chandelier moving around. Thing is, we live near a big road, and sometimes the house "moves" if there is a big truck passing by. Usually just you can hear windows, but chandeliers don't move. I thought of saying to my mom that I think it's an earthquake, but I wasn't sure if she is sleeping or not, I couldn't see from my position. And also, I was sure she is just going to tell me it's a truck. I just continued watching the show. Not long after, my dog who was in the hallway, entered the room. Later, when I went to my room, I saw a missed call.

Photo from unsplash.com

Turns out there was indeed an earthquake and there was a notification about it. Since last year, in June, android added a notification for earthquakes. Notification said that there is a possibility of earthquake in the next half minute or so. At first, I thought that they just have news that earthquake happened nearby, so they are just spreading the news. But that is not the case. How it actually works is by detecting waves. If the phone detects something that may be an earthquake, it sends a signal to Google's earthquake detection server, and it also sends the location. If it turns out that there are more signals in the same area, the phones nearby will get alert notification.

Photo from unsplash.com

I looked on the internet immediately, and found out there was indeed an earthquake, in Bosnia, but it was quite strong, strength was 6 (5.7 by some news) units of the Richter scale. This is why it was possible to feel it in parts of the all neighbor countries. The epicenter was in one small place, and only 3 people were hurt. But unfortunately one of them died due to injuries, because stone fall on their house.

I went to tell my mom that there was an earthquake, but she laughed and said it was a truck. I tied to convince her and told her to look it up. As it turned out, it happened when I thought it did, and this was the reason why my dog came in the room with us. He is scared of things like this, and even though it was light, he felt it and didn't want to be alone. 

Android feature is available all over the world. I think it's amazing feature, and it's amazing what can technology do, but still I don't see how much it can be helpful, because it predicts earthquake few seconds before it happens. I guess in some situations it can be, but not many. Since it hasn't been even a year since the feature was added, I am sure it will develop and probably get better. What is your opinion of this alert, and have you ever seen it?

Big earthquakes are not very usual here. The last "big" (over 5 units of the Richter scale) happened in 2010. But last year there was one big in Croatia, which is also neighbor country like Bosnia. In Bosnia, earthquakes continued during the night, but  lesser intensity. Hopefully, there won't be any bigger and more damage.

All photos used in this article are taken from unsplash.com

Thank you for reading my post ^^

5
$ 1.18
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.05 from @Mihhaimarrian80
+ 3
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments

good that it was just a small one and you're fine yes animals and birds can tell you much faster than technology if there is an earthquake perhaps in some places the technology is more advanced for earthquake detection if everything is invested, it is possible only if it is wanted, a technology that would let you know at least an hour before an earthquake would be good🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, exactly. Few seconds before earthquake are not much helpfull.

$ 0.00
2 years ago