"Bombing for peace"

0 15
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

23 years ago, on March 24, bombing of Yugoslavia by NATO started. Bombing lasted for 78 days, and it was ended on June 10th. Bombs fell almost everyday. Reason was war for Kosovo territory. Many lives were lost, exact number is unknown, but around 2000 soldiers and civilians lost their lives in bombing attacks, just Yugoslav, none NATO soldiers. Among those civilians, there were 78 children. They targeted government and some important buildings in order to destabilize the country's infrastructure (bridges, hospitals, airport, schools, embassy...). Even today, in the capital of Serbia, Belgrade, in the city center, you can see buildings destroyed in 1999 by NATO bombs.

At the time, I was very little, little older than 3 years, and of course, I wasn't aware of the seriousness of the situation at all, and didn't know what was happening. But I do remember the sound of sirens. Here is the At the time, I was very little, little older than 3 years, and of course, I wasn't aware of the seriousness of the situation at all, and didn't know what was happening. But I do remember the sound of sirens. Here is the sound if you want to hear it, but with all my heart, I hope you will never experience it in the real life.

Also in upcoming years I heard stories about that many times, and become more aware of what was happening, but also I saw it as something normal, we were bombed and that was it, but it was later when I grow up more, that I realized how serious it was and how terrifying it was to live at that time, in constant fear every day. How they searched for safer places to stay while attacks are happening, like basements and more hidden places. No one that I know didn't lose life at the time, but there was a bomb that fell very close to my home.

You may say it was a long time ago, and it's a history now, but people who survived it doesn't see it that way. This was only one of many bombing and wars that happened since WWII, and in this time when everyone is talking about war in Ukraine I want to ask you to also acknowledge all other wars that happened, and all other innocent people that lost their lives in someone else's battles.

If we are for peace, then we are for peace all the way and for everyone. All lives matter and let's hope this war in Ukraine is the last one happening, because it's really devastating to see things like this still happening in very advanced civilization, in the 21st century.

There are no winners in war, let's pray for peace for everyone.

2
$ 0.56
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Avatar for moonlight22
2 years ago

Comments