Bad experiences with online shopping

3 21
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Now that I think about it, I mostly had bad experience with online shopping. Many people use this as the default way of shopping, and I know it's very practical and can be a better option, but it wasn't good for me a few times. Usually I prefer to go to the store and see the product by myself and decide is it good or not for me, no matter what it is, but sometimes it's only available online or store is not close, I can't go for some reason... In this post, I will talk about my purchase back in September, but before that, let me mention a few bad online shopping before that one.

Sending bad product

If you order online, you don't see the exact product that you get, so they can send you anything. Product may have small or big defect. You can send it back, of course, but I think they try to plunge (google says this is the word) you the product, hoping that you won't return it. One time I ordered some bag from a popular store here and what I got looked nothing like the photo. The front was almost washed out, and clearly it was damaged, so I had to return it. They accepted it (I sent photos of the bag and how it looked on site). However, they sent a delivery man to wrong address (wrong city to be precise) and I ended up taking the bag to them. This same store also sent me a book that was a completely different issue than the one on site. Price was the same, but it was a boomer because I already had a few books from the same collections, and now this one didn't fit in. But I didn't return it, I didn't want to go to all that trouble again, and also I was pretty sure they sent that issue because they didn't have the one I ordered, so I would not be able to exchange it. Another time, I ordered a book from another store and I got a book with dirt on it. I'm not exaggerating, I had to clean it with wet tissue and didn't want to touch it for a while.

Out of stock

Many online stores don't update they stock status on time, so you order something just to get email they are out of it. One time there was some sale, and both me and my sister ordered sneakers (it was one order). We got confirmation mail, but they didn't come in more than seven days, so we called the store. They said they didn't have the sneakers my sister ordered, but they didn't care to inform us or ask do we just want the other one sent. But also opposite thing happened go me with bookstore, where I ordered dirty book. I actually ordered one other book (which was over $10), and 'dirty' book I just added to my order because it was on big sale (it was only $2). When the order came, there was no book I actually wanted, but just the dirty one. They were out of stock and didn't care to inform me and ask do I wanted the other book, but they just sent it out. It's as if they knew I would cancel the order. When I called to complain, they said someone new was working and didn't know they should inform me.

Most recent semi bad experience

Now, about my experience from September. I was looking for new shoes/sneakers for the fall and rain time. I love the converse, and I found a site with so many of them, but it was only online shop and I had to order. I was looking two models and I decided to go with totally different model that I never had before. Size was different, but they actually called and asked, and turned out they had the exact size that I needed. However, when sneakers came, they looked as if they were used. The sneakers soles looked fine and new, but leather on the side was wronged out, and color was different on a few places. Photos don't show it well, but here are some.

I sent photos to them, and they immediately called, said they were sorry and that they will send a delivery man. I exchanged them for other model that I thought about, because they didn't have another on in the same size, and they were even cheaper. Since they accepted my complaint, the cost of returning sneakers was paid by them. So I have to say, in the end it was good, but still if they just checked shoes before sending we wouldn't go through all that trouble of sending back and forth. At least they accepted their mistake. Although I wanted different model, the one I got maybe even better choice, since they are waterproof. Here is how the other one look like. 

I have to say, after this, last month I ended up ordering online more than ever, but I will talk about it in another post (I am still waiting for some orders).

What is your wors online shopping experience, if you had any?

Thanks for reading my post ^^

Photos included in this article are original and made them.

Lead photo is from Unsplash.com

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Duvinca
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

I didn't have many bad experiences but for some goods, we need to be sure of color, etc.... but some photos are not clear and that can confuse us. At least a good customer service of the company can help to change the situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

there are times when the product delivered to us are not in a good quality or sometimes not handled properly by the customs or delivery personnel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, specially if we order from abroad, thwy can trick us much easier and send very low quality and different product :/

$ 0.00
1 year ago