Is Chivalry really dead?

1 16
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Chivalry, or the chivalric code, is an informal and varying code of conduct developed between 1170 and 1220. It was associated with the medieval Christian institution of knighthood;knights' and gentlemen's behaviours were governed by chivalrous social codes.

It only means that Chivalry is a one kind of behavior ancients do. Because as of this generation we are living in and with the fast growing of technologies,I see no on doing it honestly.

Well, I've encountered a lot of situations where I can conclude that Chivalry is dead but this recent one really shookt me that made me want to blurt but since I don't want to make a fuss so I just prayed and prayed for patience and calmness that time.

Last Friday, I rode a bus on the way at home but suddenly the bus suddenly got problems so we were suggested to take another bus to hop on and they give us back the fare.

and since it's weekend so many people got off work to go home to their province after a week of being away. So there were many passengers waiting beside the highway hoping to find some extra seats when a jeep passes.

As I was saying that there were many passengers so there's no social distancing but everyone is wearing masks and face shield. Me I was wearing jackets in order not to make skin contacts with other people and I always take a bath when I got home.

So we were waiting for buses to drop some passengers so we can make our way but it's just possible because we outnumbered the jeeps and buses passing by.

Desperate moves is that we often agree to do "standing" just to get home and take a rest. And I did desperately. I hop on a minibus and hold the pole and ride the minibus standing. I didn't mind because i can endure it. I'm still young and you don't have to be picky if you want to go home badly.

I stand there for almost an hour, because the ride home would take up to 3 hours but I don't mind and i just read Harry Potter on my e-pub app using one hand while my other hand was holding the pole. It's uncomfortable but I didn't mind it at all. I look to my right and left and notice that there are a lot of us standing and was shocked that mostly women were the one standing and they look exhausted maybe from work and stress idk. And as I look the passengers sitting. My ghaadd mostly men were sitting.

I mean, yes I get it that they're the first one to hop on but yeah I can't judge them easily because maybe they are also tired from their work and that they want to sleep on the way home.

Halfway through the ride and old woman plead to hop on because her house was really far so the barker let her hop in. So she stands behind me and holds the pole for support too. She's carrying a sack of vegetables and I could say it's heavy because the contents where squash, carrots, eggplant and some onions and garlic and some leafy veggies so I told her that I can hold it for her because she's struggling on holding the pole without carrying it and she thanked me for it.

Beside her a young boy in her teens is sitting and playing mobile games on his phone so a woman behind the oldie ask the boy to let Granny take his seat. I thought he would give way but instead he shouted "What the h**l?I was playing and you dare interrupt me? You hop in last so you suffer standing. Why are you taking my seat? Will you pay my fare huh?Bu***t"

I mean i was shocked and the woman was speechless too. Granny apologized to the woman and just said she's fine.Throughout the ride mostly us are standing until I arrived at my destination. With my anger wanted to burst out I just stopped reading e-pub and praying earnestly to gain patience and more patience and keeping myself calm. Shouting and talking back will only make me angry so I just prayed and prayed and it worked out.Praise God!

You see education and learning really starts at home and we parents should educate our kids up to our utmost capabilities.

I pity those children who doesn't understand respect, proper behavior especially chivalry.Lesson learned for me also because sometimes I pamper my son the most that he sometimes mess with me. I always corrects him but I am not always at his side so i can't guarantee that I was doing a proper job on raising him alone.

I think, CHIVALRY REALLY IS DEAD.

This is just my opinion.

What's your opinion?

2
$ 6.66
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Comments

Chivalry is not dead. The young man was not well trained at home. Parents who do not train their children suffer for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago