Who is Hideaki Anno?

0 27
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: BTC, Hideaki anno, Animetion, Anime, Japan, ...

Who is Hideaki Anno? (1) Is he somebody who works in the crypto world? Well, nope!

 

Hideaki Anno: IMDb

One of my hobbies is surfing Wikipedia, checking one page to another. I know some of the information which is listed in Wikipedia is not reliable, but I just love surfing in it to kill time, or when I have nothing particular to do.

 

And, Hideaki Anno is one of the Wikipedia pages I visited a couple of weeks ago when I was killing time. He is a Japanese animator and filmmaker, and he is best known for producing the animation series, Neon Genesis Evangelion.

 

I am a big fan of his work, and I have been waiting for a long time to release a new series of Neon Genesis Evangelion, and at last, it just came to release the other day. I believe that it will be released in English soon as well. The new series is called "Evangelion: 3.0+1.0 Thrice Upon a Time". I have not watched it yet, but definitely, I will watch it soon!

Evangelion:3.0 + 1,0 Thrice Upon a Time

 

I became a fan of his work after he released the Neon Genesis Evangelion series, but I did not know so much about how he had come to create this series. So, I thought that it would be fun to summarize his work history. (Well, so that I can watch his old animation works! LOL!)

 

Well, I am a fan of him. At least, I thought so! But I did not know that he had founded his studio called Studio Khara (Khara, Inc.) (2). Khara means “joy” in Greek “χαρά“, according to Wikipedia. Well, it is not a reliable source! LOL! Please correct me if there is any reader from Greece!

 

I read his profile and career history on his official website. It was fun to read how much he hated studying when he was in high school. It kind of reminded me of my time in high school, too. I feel for him. Many creative students suffer so much in the Japanese education system, it seems. And, he is one of them who became so fed up with how traditional education systems work. There is a lot of memorization work I had to do. Memorizing things, names, particular years when happened, that means “study” in Japan, I felt. I hated.

 

In high school, he joined an art club and drew so many art pieces. He hated studying just to pass the entrance exam to enroll in a university, but he anyways did it because his parents asked him to do so. Sounds very Japanese to me.

Anyway, he started displaying his talent when he was in university. He created an opening animation for the 20th Japan SF Conference in Osaka, and it made him famous in certain groups of animators. And, he joined a group called Daikon Film (4) which creates animated films. It seems that he had good practical experiences how to create animation in the group. He was asked to join a group to produce “Super Dimension Fortress Macross” (6). I have not watched this animation yet, but I would like to watch it!

 

After that, he also joined a group of Hayao Miyazaki which was working on “Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind “ (7). Genius attracts other geniuses. And, it seems that it happens in the animation world as well. Hayao Miyazaki (8) is one of the well-known animation creators in Japan, as well as in the world (I think). He was awarded an Academy Award for Animation and the Golden Bear of Berlin International Film Festival by “Spirited Away”. Mr. Anno drew scenes in which giant robots called Kyoshin-he is destroying mysterious insect-like creatures. This robot has a similar characteristic to robots from Neon Genesis Evangelion. It seems that his imagination grew as he got older, but his original idea was maybe created when I was working with Mr. Miyazaki.

 

In 1995, he started making a series of Neon Genesis Evangelion, and it became a social phenomenon in Japan. I hope you also watch the series. I think the animation is listed on Netflix.

 

It takes some time to create something amazing.

Satoshi Nakamoto created Bitcoin, but he gathered many other cryptographic inventions such as B-money of Wei Dai, Merkle tree, Hashcash of Adam Back, and so forth. Behind a great invention, one devoted oneself so much time to something very passionate about. I hope I will find something like that someday.

 

Mizuo – Mar. 25th 2021.

 

References

1) IMDb (Hideaki Anno)

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0030417/  

 

2) Studio Khara

https://www.khara.co.jp/hideakianno/personal-biography/

 

3) Khara, Inc. (Wikipedia)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khara_(studio) 

 

4) Daikon Film

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daicon_III_and_IV_Opening_Animations

5) Ginax Inc. (Animation studio)

http://www.gainax.co.jp/wp/notenki-tsushin/

 

6) Super Dimension Fortress Macross

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Dimension_Fortress_Macross

7) Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nausica%C3%A4_of_the_Valley_of_the_Wind_(manga)

8) Hayao Mizayaki

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayao_Miyazaki

2
$ 2.95
$ 2.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: BTC, Hideaki anno, Animetion, Anime, Japan, ...

Comments