Lemon in caramel syrup

1 27
Avatar for milanlukic
2 years ago

Although in my country drinking tea is mostly associated with illness, I like to drink it every day. When I drink tea I like to drink it with lemon, and whenever I can I have lemon prepared in caramel syrup. I like this method the most because I like to eat sliced ​​lemon peel, so I get multiple pleasures with this recipe.

To make this syrup you need it

4 lemons

200g sugar

a little bit of water

It should be noted that the amounts are arbitrary and that you can increase the amount of sugar or lemon depending on your taste.

To begin, cut the lemon into longitudinal halves and then into slices as in the picture. This way of cutting proved to me to be the most efficient.

Put sugar in a dry skillet and turn on the hob.

Do not mix the sugar or shake the bowl, just wait for it to start melting. You will notice this on the rim of the bowl as in the photo.

If you like a stronger caramel taste, as I like, allow the sugar to caramelize a little more, but be careful not to burn it.

When the sugar reaches this stage add about 100ml of water. It should be noted that it is not necessary for the whole amount of sugar to be melted and caramelized.

Then add sliced ​​lemon and let it cook.

Be careful as the contents may boil out of the pot if it is not large enough.

This happens because a large amount of foam is created during cooking

If you have leftovers from the previous storage, feel free to add them to the new mixture you are cooking.

The syrup is ready when the fork starts to drip hard, it's a little harder to take photos, but don't be afraid, you can't go wrong here, no matter how much you cook, it will be good.

And finally, this is what the finished syrup looks like, the color depends on how long you let the sugar caramelize.

It should be noted that if you do not want the taste of caramel, when you put sugar in a bowl, immediately add water, this way you will get a light yellow syrup.

Also, you should know that the syrup prepared in this way contains bitterness, I love it, but if you do not like it, then you need to peel the lemon peel and save everything the same without it.

You can also use other citrus fruits, limes, oranges, tangerines, grapefruit to prepare this recipe, and you can also make a combination. In addition to lemon, I like to add kumquat, only I haven't found it in the market these days.

2
$ 0.69
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jelena
Sponsors of milanlukic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for milanlukic
2 years ago

Comments

I love lemon a lot. I will try your recipe. It looks delicious and it is a very good idea. Lemon taste is one of my favorite tastes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago