Simple DIY Breakfast Experiment - Homemade Sausage Rolls Puff Pastry!

3 22
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

It all started with me being bored with my usual breakfast food @ grab-and-go kinda food e.g. biscuits, flavoured bread, bread with filling etc. Hence, it sparked my brain to try to make something different for my breakfast. Maybe something "fancier", yet simple and not time-consuming. 😂

It's actually not hard to make, just needed a little more time and intention.😊

Puff pastry sheets, sausages, and egg. I just took whatever was available in the fridge/freezer. 😂 I roughly glanced at some youtube videos and went ahead to make it. To be honest, I'm not sure if it works since it's my first time making it. 😄

Place the sausage in the middle and cut a short line on both left and right of the pastry sheet.

Cross-wrap the sausage by folding the left strip over to the right, and then the right strip over to the left.

It may get a little tricky and time-consuming here, as the pastry sheet starts to get stickier the longer it stays at room temperature.

Repeat the cross-wrap technique from top to bottom of the sausage.

Separate the egg white and egg yolk, and then beat the egg yolk.

Apply a layer of egg wash over the pastry.

Put into the air fryer and set 180 degrees for 15 mins.

Voila! Sausage Rolls Puff Pastry done!

It was better than I expected. It's nice and crispy when it's eaten hot. Yumsss! Awesome food for breakfast and teatime snack! 😋

Imagine having it with this cuppa of coffee or any hot beverage you like. Perfect combo! ☕

======================================================

Homemade Sausage Rolls Puff Pastry

Ingredients:

  1. Ready-made puff pastry sheets (I got them from the frozen section in the supermarket)

  2. Sausages

  3. 1 egg

======================================================

Steps:

  1. Place the sausage in the middle of the pastry sheet.

  2. Cut a short line on both left and right of the pastry sheet.

  3. Cross-wrap the sausage by folding the left strip over to the right. Vice versa.

  4. Repeat the cross-wrap technique from top to bottom of the sausage.

  5. Separate the egg white and egg yolk. Beat the egg yolk.

  6. Apply a layer of egg wash over the pastry.

  7. Put into the air fryer and set 180 degrees for 15 mins.

  8. Tada! (Pair with your favourite hot beverage for a perfect combo!)

======================================================

Aisehhh~ like a chef's recipe. 😂

After my sausage roll experiment was successful, I made another one for my brother to try. He loved it too! Yay! 🎉

I felt an unexplainable joy when I see people enjoy the food I cooked. ❤️

Haha, till next time! :D

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @flapiz
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

Comments

Wow that sounds really easy and looks really fancy. I just might try it one of these days. I do not have air fryer, will oven do?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I think it works too! But may need to adjust the temperature and timing. Do share your experience after you try @flapiz! :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure and will be doing a mention if ever. I am off to the shops today so hopefully I will find these ingredients.

$ 0.00
1 year ago