A Simple Yet Memorable Walk Down The Memory Lane With My Dad 😊

7 35
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

This was a rare date where my dad and I had a short trip to Muar town some time ago. (Muar is a town and the capital of Muar District in Johor state, Malaysia.)

We usually have a place to stay over whenever we're in Johor as it is my parent's hometown. But due to some circumstances, we had to book accommodation near the town to layover a night.

Found a hotel boutique called Muo Resort, which cost around MYR 84+ (USD 17+) per night for two pax. Quite affordable.

Coconut trees and tv antennas high up in the skies are one common sight whenever I'm back here.

Here's my dad explaining his experience about this town, on top of the displayed history information.

While walking around the town, we came across this restaurant called "Lu San" Restaurant. It was the restaurant where my parents held their wedding 35-36 years ago. So glad that it still exists, and I can capture it as a memory!

We have the same Chinese surname as the shop's name, which is pronounced as Lu in Mandarin! Now I'm wondering is this why my dad chose this restaurant? So it's easier to remember? 😂

It has now become a Kopitiam/coffee shop that serves coffee and sells all sorts of biscuits and dry goods.

In the evening, we went to a place called Tanjung Emas Park. It is located at the mouth of the Muar river that meets the South China Sea. This place is quite a well-maintained park. People come here to jog, while some chill with friends overlooking the sunset.

Here's my dad talking to the phone in "style"... or maybe he's stretching his legs... 😅

Here's what I see on my right while strolling the park. Such a beautiful scene!

Love the calm sea here. Love the gradient colours in the sky too. What a peaceful view. :)

A wefie to commemorate this special day. :)

It was a memorable walk in the town, discovering the place my parents held their wedding, walking around the park in the evening, and overlooking the calming river and sea. A simple yet precious moment with my dad. :)

Not sure if it's the prolonged effect of staying in the city, but it makes my heart (and eyes) leapt whenever I see greens/nature in the city. I think every town or city should have places like this for the sake of people's well-being and to encourage everyone to appreciate nature more.

Whether to have a stroll in the evening, gather with friends to do morning exercise, or calm the mind amid busyness, I believe spending time in nature and doing exercises does help to improve our physical and mental health in some ways. :)

3
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Erickchristianmontajes
$ 0.02 from @flapiz
Avatar for michelleloh168
1 year ago

Comments

Awwww that's cute. I want a date with my dad do but I am working overseas. Do cherish these moments girl. It is very precious!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I treasure these moments a lot! <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are giving you idea where they celebrate one of their important occasion, and you'll have to held your own there too hahaha hope its not too late for the prince with his white horse, to come around

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha the place no longer holds big events like those days. It's a coffee shop now! :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

still, you love coffee, it will always have a part of your heart hahhha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahaha I'm actually a tea over a coffee person! But yeah, this place will always have a special spot in my heart. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lemme change my comment, Im bad in guessing hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago