Does an emergency fund give you peace of mind?

0 12
Avatar for merurial9
3 years ago

What a time to be writing about spending. As we watch stock markets decrease over the past two weeks and see more and more news articles about the US printing another $1.9trillion to pay for another stimulus check, I can't wrap my mind around how much long-term financial disaster this will cause to the US and world economies.

If you were receiving a stimulus check, it would be a good time to think about an emergency fund that is funded slightly or not at all. But that's not the case, as most of what you read online anticipates those stimulus checks being pumped back into the stock market or crypto market. I can't imagine not having an emergency fund to escape a dire situation, but, according to the stats, it's a common position.

Let's get this straight: Less spending = more emergency fund.

I request your fixation on the next two suggestions.

Entertain the "Enough" mentality in your life

If you reach the Enough mentality, mark the day on the calendar. It's a worthy milestone of your financial maturity. Too many people don't know what 'enough' means. Marketers love these people and are happy to indulge your lack of 'enough'. 'Enough' means that you have reached a saturation point with buying stuff, take-out dependence, or whatever it is your bank account is bleeding from. It means that you're happy with what you have and don't need to cure boredom by spending endlessly. Start feeling OK with what you have. You don't need any more clothes, furniture, shoes, wall hangings, candles, tablets, monthly subscriptions, sunglasses, makeup, cologne, curtains, or car accessories. Live with what you have and realize that you can live without, too.

Cure yourself of "present bias". 

This is a concept explained in Tony Robbins' Money: Master The Game. It's not about getting presents; it's about planning for your future. Unfortunately for your retirement plan, your brain is not automatically on board. The brain leans in favour of immediate gratification and what's happening today, not tomorrow. Know the feeling? Adding to this, it's not natural to envision the future, or it seems so distant, that saving for retirement feels as unnatural as living Benjamin Button's life. "I'm not old, why should I have to save for it now?", or "That's such a long time away, I'm putting $X money into my 401(k)" may not cut it.

I have trouble envisioning my future as well. I was not blessed with any prophetic skills to understand the resistance to padding the budget of an age that you hope not to be. No 35, 40, or 50-year-old wants to turn 70, but, probability speaking, it's inevitable.

Crystal-ball abilities aside, what I do relate to is seeing my savings snowball into a bloated balance. When it keeps increasing, I psych myself out to keep the momentum going. That becomes more important to me than buying new stuff. When I reach a fat, healthy balance, I refer to my spending list and pick one or two items. Mind you, some of those things may have been on the list for a year or two. That's how rigid I am. If even a shred of my rigidity rubs off on you by reading this, I will take a bow.


Thank you for reading and hope you have a good rest of the day!

Follow me on these other platforms where I also post my content: Publish0x || Hive || Steem || Read.Cash || Noise.Cash || Uptrennd || Instagram || Twitter || Pinterest

1
$ 0.35
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for merurial9
3 years ago

Comments