Bucket List Unlocked

1 24
Avatar for meliora
1 year ago

It's been one of my bucket lists to donate blood. If most people are afraid of needles, I'm an exception to that. I have a habit of looking whenever blood is drawn to me or while the medicine is being injected into me. I don't have an explanation for why but it's what I have been doing since I can remember.

Back to donating blood, there are lots of obstacles why it took me some time before I accomplished this bucket list. First, my weight; to be a legible donor you must weigh a minimum of 50 kilos. Since High school, I was so skinny that I only weighed 44 - 45 kilos. I gained weight up to 50 kilos this pandemic due to being stay at home and a lot of eating. Second, I thought I'm not capable of donating blood due to my health condition. Third I got a tattoo as one of my birthday day gifts myself so I needed a minimum of 1 year to be cleared for donating. And more other hindrances.

To cut the story short I met someone who regularly donates blood and she encourage me to do it. We scheduled it and go to the hospital where we will donate. I got a little bit nervous but excited at the same time. The nurse who will extract the blood had a difficulty in finding the right vein. It took him a while but succeeded eventually. It lasted for 30 mins more to almost an hour coz we needed to rest before we stand up from the extraction chair so we won't get dizzy.

There's a different kind of joy when you know that the blood you donated will help others prolong their life. I'm planning to maintain this weight so I can donate regularly.

1
$ 0.40
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @ZeroRequiem

Comments

You have a superpower! I am one of those that is afraid of needles and hates blood. Good post, thank you for sharing your thoughts and blood!

$ 0.01
1 year ago