She's a B%tch : Chapter II

4 39
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Chapter I

Swipe left. Swipe left. I was not in the mood for blondes that day so I kept swiping left on the screen of my smartphone until I laid eyes upon this gorgeous lady whose deep set blue eyes jumps out of the digital world. It was like staring into the vastness of the ocean. Her long black hair flows flawlessly from her head down to below her shoulders. Her lips curved into an ethereal smile revealing those pure pearly whites. And without wasting another breath, I swiped right.

As I placed the phone on top of my desk the intercom buzzed red and I answered it.

"Good morning Mr. Marshall."

A voice that I knew so well just like the back of my hand. The voice that saved me a lot of times and the only voice that could calm me down even in the worst of my nights. A voice that I would soon miss hearing in the morning and saying good night to in the evening.

"Mr. Marshall? It's been a while since I heard you call me that. Am I in trouble Jen? What did I do this time?" I asked playfully over the line.

"Silly. If I know, you're gonna miss the way I call you names, a lot. " she replied and as if I could see her I can imagine her signature tiny smirk while raising her right brow as if everything she just said was an established fact. And in that moment, just like all other times, she was right on the spot.

"And while you're realizing I'm right. Like you always do. You're 10 a.m. is here. Shall I let her in? I've already discussed with her the posts and responsibilities and I think she's a good replacement for me."

"Why the extra stress on the word responsibilities?" I inquired jokingly. "Anyway if she's okay with you what more can I say?"

"Between you and me, you're still the boss right?" she snapped back with a little laugh.

"Alright alright. You guys can come in--"

I was interrupted by a violent buzz on my chest. It was the mobile phone I use when dealing with important business and I literally mean business. I answered it and before I can even place it next to my ear I can already hear the screaming from the other side of the line.

"Drew! You oughta come down here. I think we have a problem. As I see it, Mr. Yoshida is about to sign the deal with Berkeley's. We're at the golf club. Hurry!"

"F#ck! How did this happen? I thought this deal is sealed already? I'm coming."

I hurriedly got up and raced through the door. As it swung open I passed Jen on the doorway with another girl. She must be the replacement she was talking about. It wasn't longer than a jiffy but there was something familiar about her. She had her head bowed a little with her shining black hair covering the side of her face. I could have sworn that I saw her before, that's what I was thinking as I was driving furiously across the streets of the busy city.

I was met by Henry at the lobby of the club's restaurant. His tall and athletically built body seemed out of place in those awkwardly cut short pants and a white polo shirt. One look and you'd agree that his physique doesn't agree with golf's fashion. He works with me for acquisition and the trouble is painted on his face with sweat drizzled all over him.

"He's inside." his voice was firm with resolved but a faint crack shows that it was just a poor attempt to cover his nerves.

"Thanks." I replied coldly as I made my way to the table where our potential client was seated with 3 other men. They were obviously on a joyous mood and in celebratory spirits when I interrupted.

"Mr. Yoshida. Fancy meeting you here." I offered an awkward smile.

"What on earth are you doing here? Are you following me? That's not how you treat your clients, I hope." he turned to me and he was obviously in distress.

"Oh no. Not at all, I am here to play golf myself and I saw and just wanted to say hi."

"It's rather peculiar to play golf in that tight suit of yours is it not? Anyhow let us be in peace. We'll talk business some other time. I'm with my future son-in-law, I believe you may know him from your little industry."

"I see, I will leave you be. Enjoy your meal gentlemen. And oh, this one's on me." I signaled to the waiter and left him my corporate card.

"Well then fellas, you heard the guy. Let's drink up." the old man cheered as I walked out on them.

"What the hell was that Henry? Their tab is yours. Damn."

"Yes Jen?" I answered my phone as I was making my way back to the car.

"Where the hell did you ran off to? Are you at the golf club confronting Mr. Yoshida?"

I had to admit that even though I know how well she knows me, I was surprised on how spot on she was. "How'd you..."

"Wow, she's a natural. Exactly as Elizabeth said." Jen murmured over the phone.

"What? What do you mean?" I asked curiously.

Somehow, some way, I can hear her gathering her thoughts.

"I think it's better that you just come back here at the office and meet her personally. I think you will really like her. She's quite a character. That Elizabeth."

Chapter III

3
$ 1.25
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments

I'm loving this, excited to see interaction from the main characters. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the attention. :) I'm still imagining how things would go between them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha I'm sure that you can pull it off.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha thank you for that confidence boost. :) I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago