It's the Journey Not the Destination, or Is it?

10 75
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Often times I walk around the neighborhood to loosen myself, to shake my things of unnecessary emotions and to clear my head. As I was feeling a little bit stressed for this past week I wanted to go a little farther so I went to the train station and bought a ticket for the farthest station. I figured that I could just get off in any station I wanted and take another train going back home. With a ticket on my pocket I went to the platform and waited for a train to stop to pick me and other passengers waiting. A few minutes passed by and finally, a train I could board into.

Image 1

The rush hour that day has just ended so the train has only a few people in it. I had a free choice of seat. I chose one seat on the left side and near the window. Although it’s late in the night and no sights to see at that time, I still preferred to be seated next to the window. I just had to. Choo choo… and there we go.

I have been stressed for the week because I was swamped with works in the office. Problems here, technical troubles there, presentations here and meetings there. If I could clone myself into 10 pieces, I would gladly do. For the night, I am contemplating if I am going to totally scrap a project or continue with its failing future. It was a huge deal for the company and for me, but the results so far are far from promising. I was asked to decide whether to scrap the project or to proceed with it. And I just can’t make up my mind. If it’s a success it will change the landscape of technology but if does not, I would probably be out looking for another job. And with that, I found myself looking over the window of the moving train. No, I am not thinking of jumping off it, but it was tempting since the baby two seats ahead of me won’t just stop crying and wailing. While two drunk men loudly conversing behind my back. I was starting to think that maybe I was better off walking in our friendly neighborhood.

The train stopped at a station and several more people came aboard. Suddenly the car I am riding in is half filled. I did not know that lots of people still take the train at that time of the night. As I look around, some seemed to come from work, judging by the briefcases and loosely worn ties around their necks. I think I saw a lady who looked like she came from a ruined dinner. I gathered that from the dress she was wearing, the stiletto she was rocking and from the mascara lines streaming down her face.

An old lady sat next to me and the train went on again. She was carrying a big pack of potato chips and just as I was thinking that I hope she wouldn’t open it, she did.

Everybody looked at us as the bag was opened with a loud bang.

She looked around and smiled at me. “Care for some chips young man?”

“Thank you very much. I’m good.” I replied.

“Is that so? You don’t look so good? Are you eating all your vegetables?”

“Ah.. what?” I was so confused with her question. I just felt my eyes blinking fast.

“You look so pale my son, is there something on your mind?” she asked as she place a chip on her mouth. The crispness of the chip was evident to the sound it made when she started munching.

“Nah, I’m alright. I was just thinking.”

“Would you like a tea perhaps?” she tried to opened her little thermos and it spilled a bit on my pants. I was annoyed and a bit frustrated, thankfully the tea was not hot enough to cause me some damage so I somehow controlled my temper and went back into staring outside.

I came aboard the train to free my mind, to clear my head, to have a fresh perspective but instead, I was surrounded by a rowdy bunch and a little too intrusive old lady. I was starting to regret my decision when something emerged from the window.

The train was on top of the tracks which were resting on a long bridge. I can see clearly the dark night sky reflected on the river. The body of water seemed to be filled with a million little stars and the moon’s perfect phase was neatly laid upon the waters. Oh it was a sight to behold. Suddenly, I felt my face lighten and my chest loosen. I don’t know why but I felt myself smiling as wide as my lips could go.

Then the famous saying came to my mind, it’s about the journey not the destination. But for that specific scene, to hell with the journey, that destination was worth it. I came home that night happy and contented. My mind was cleared of all doubts and fears and two weeks later, here I am, writing another application letter. Oh well, life’s amazing.

Hey there!

Thank you for reading this one. This is pretty random since I was just practicing my freewriting, the prompt was: "Start your story with someone sitting on a crowded train and end it with them looking out over beautiful natural scenery." I do not know if I pulled it off or it's a failure but meh, practice makes perfect right?

Don't be a stranger! Drop by at the comment section and let's catch up.

As always, cheers!!!


Sources :

Lead Image : Photo by Steven Arenas from Pexels

Image 1 : Photo by Vlad Bagacian from Pexels

Image 2 : https://www.railway-technology.com/features/featurethe-worlds-most-daring-and-audacious-railway-lines-4556503/attachment/featurethe-worlds-most-daring-and-audacious-railway-lines-4556503-7/

7
$ 21.30
$ 21.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Glez
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments

Sometimes life needs to put us there for us to realized different things that sometimes we forget to ponder due to our busy schedules. Well, good for you that you did realize something out of the situation you are in. And yes I agree with you. Thanks by the way for writing such an article I enjoyed it.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Oh thank you for the kind words. I appreciate you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks looking forward to reading more from you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am happy how I was able to image all the scenes in my mind. This is like the other stories by famous writers that I know. I could imagine the vehicle the people conversing, the chips, the scenery.

Your imagery is amazing.

I am looking forward to all these prompts based writing. Cheers!

$ 0.06
3 years ago

No way!! For real?? You do not know how much those words mean to me. :) Thank you so much!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you there are moments that we are overloaded with stress from work. I could simply relate on the journey but mine , I was riding a bus to free my mind from negatively. I would like to suggest you to try travelling especially in my place. I used to go to the mountains , falls and spring because I find them as my safest place to unwind.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I do not think that I can travel to a mountain. It's a bit hard for me to be one with nature. :D I'm spoiled like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I respect your decision. What matters is how comfy we are on expressing ourselves out from stress or problems in life or at work 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeeep and if all else fails... there's always happiness at the bottom of the bottle.

$ 0.00
3 years ago