Cuteness Kills the Cat

4 30
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

Have you seen an anime that left you in tears because it is so beautiful? Or maybe it was so dramatic and tugged your heartstrings? Or maybe you cried because it was so lovable and you didn't want it to end? Or you just can't keep your eyes from bawling because you are so confused? Well, this one has it all.

I think that I have watched this series back when I was living in Manila. At the end of every day, when I get comfortable into my bed, I open up my laptop and relax with some anime series. I'm pretty hardcore back then when it comes to watching because I think I am able to finish several series in a week. I guess that's how much stressful it was back then. Lol. Not anymore.

So one night after finishing a series I was out looking for another one to start and there I was, I stumbled into this anime called Elfen Lied.

Elfen Lied

I am not sure what it was about this image but it just caught my eye and my interest was piqued. Usually, when I want to watch an anime I watch some trailers or teasers first but for this one, I dove in head first. Without any idea of what it is about, I went straight for the first episode and boy! I was not ready for it. I was not.

It started with an action packed first episode. I didn't realize what was happening in the beginning but I later understood that the main character was trying to escape from a science facility where she was experimented on. At first look, it looks like a gore psychological thriller. I'm not really into those kinds of anime but I was in and I was really curious about how it will all transpire.

Image 1

This is a screen capture from the first episode. As you can see the animation is just average at best even for the year 2004 which when it was released. And yes, the animation really is not that good but still I endured through it. From that scene, all those policemen and security will be dead in a jiff. And I mean too dead. They couldn't be any more dead. And who killed them? Yep that is the main character, a lady made into a weapon of mass destruction.

When the mask was off, they revealed a lady as cute as a button. And she was literally cute, at least her tamed personality is. Yeah you read that right, she has a dual personality, one was an innocent little girl and the other was a killer machine. If that was not confusing enough, the plot of the story, the tone and the atmosphere of the show will change from time to time.

At one time the story will be sad and sappy and on the next scene it will be action packed and edgy. And at times you'll be enjoying it and the next moment it will render yourself incapable of moving and asking yourself "why am I watching this?". And just like this article, the whole story is bordering in vague, crazy and confusing. But the overall experience while watching it is awesome. It's half/half 50-50. Either you will hate this anime or you will like it so much. So if you haven't seen it, good luck.

Hey there!

Thank you for getting through this whimsical article. I just decided to write this one out of nowhere. I can't really remember what triggered this memory but well, here it is. Interesting though, while I was searching the net for reference about this anime I found several posts on different forums hating on this one. I mean, I get their point but I think what they were saying was a little over the top. The hate is just too much. It deserved that kind of hate. It's awesome overall.

What about you? A fan of anime? Anything you've seen lately? How was it? Any recommendations? As usual, kindly drop by the comment section and let's chat.

I appreciate you taking time for this and as always,

Cheers!!!


Sources : https://myanimelist.net/anime/226/Elfen_Lied

Image 1 : http://www.geocities.ws/rbundt/animeelfen.html

Lead image: https://www.fortressofsolitude.co.za/the-15-most-powerful-anime-characters-of-all-time/

4
$ 4.02
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

Comments

Have you watched the movie Hotarobi No Morie? It's my all-time favorite. Really short movie and no extravagant animation. But the story strikes straight into heart and leaves people hurt forever. My heart still hurts everytime I remember it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I don't wanna hurt my self. Haha but I'll get to it when I have the chance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im a fan of hunter x hunter and... And.. and.. too many to list

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. I am a fan of that too. Too much action and the surprise love story out of nowhere? That was just devastating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago