Creative Writing, Keep Writing

9 43
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago
Photo by Vlada Karpovich from Pexels


I always envy those people who can whip out a good article in just under an hour.

Just, how was that possible? Do they have the idea for something great just on top of their mind and the words to come with it on the tip of their fingertips? How is it possible to turn a topic into quite an interesting read? Why does it come to them naturally while I struggle to put up even a single sentence with essence and meaning? If you're like me, then you shall agree with me that the struggle is real.

Looking at this on another side, this being a struggle is a good thing. Because when you struggle the outcome could only get better, Just as like any problem has several solutions, there are things to make the struggling a bit bearable if not completely acceptable. For me at least, I will try to share what I find helpful in overcoming that wall that stalls your writing.

Stick to one topic at a time

When you write, at least try to, the first thing you have to know is what are you going to write about, easy enough right? Well, if you are writing for news channels and other periodicals, it may be true but when it comes to creative and free writing, it's a little bit complicated.

Subjects and contents will come rushing to your head and they will scramble in your mind like a dump truck unloading all the clutters. What I like to do with this bombardment of subjects to write is I make a list of at least 5 of them that I find most interesting, to me at least. And from that list I prioritize the most thing that is grabbing my attention. And if the first one doesn't work out well, then I have 4 more to go back to.

Talk to yourself

I always imagine that the articles I write are just conversations that I can have normally, verbally, so it helps to literally talk to myself as it builds the article organically. Every article has a message to convey, and it is hard to deliver that message without an audience. I don't know if my articles would be seen by many or just a couple or will it even see the light of day but one thing is for sure : I will read my work. In that case, I already have an audience, myself.

When I do this, it also helps shape the container in which my message will be placed into. It can also give me an idea on how to dress up that container with trappings of art. This is also the time to ponder if my message is delivered clearly or should I start over again.

Take a Breather

There is no point in struggling if you keep on struggling. Take a quick break here and there and relax. Breathe in breathe out, clear your mind, clear your thoughts and visualize peace. I find writing better when I am calm, relaxed and at peace.

Just Keep Writing

I have my topic, I have a rough idea on how to deliver it but the words I need are out of my reach still. There's no use stressing about it, because I write to express myself, and not to be stressed, I don't fret about it even if I can't find the words, phrases I want to use. What works for me here is I just write everything that comes to mind, all the rumblings and clutter in my brain. It does not matter if it is related to the topic at hand or not, I just keep my motor running. There will be time to rearrange them and throw away what's not necessary.

The most important thing is keep the creative juice flowing. You can decide later if you have created a meaningful or an utter failure. But stay at it. Besides, all the words are there, you just have to arrange them to build your concept.

Lead Image : Photo by Lisa Fotios from Pexels


5
$ 2.62
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago

Comments

When you try to write entire of your sincere emotions, I do not know either if I'm making any sense here just like what I'm trying right now, when it's ramble it's just like my mind. I can't put it up together and let the reader understand what I'm trying to say.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHA. I am not fully certain about it but I think I got you. Although I can see the scribbles above your head, I quite get it. :) I have three dots over mine as of the moment. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your tips here! Though I mostly do write an article under an hour, it might seem fast but writing that came with a lot of struggles. Specially when you are writing with just a rough draft on your brain. Sometimes, ideas aren't coming and sometimes, ideas are flooding so it ends up rumbling. But just like what you said, we just have to keep writing. We can always proofread our work, seeing if it makes some sense after we pour our hearts out writing it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Quite true! And I am glad you agree with me Mary the Wise. I feel right, and it feels good. :)

Indeed, once your pretty motivated an idea comes and then they all come rushing in, the floodgates have been opened. Just like they say , when it rains. It pours.

I appreciate this. Thanks.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I appreciate your idea, the tips you have explained in your article are very useful and very helpful and encourages the beginners, very admirable, I love your writings keep it up. Best of luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. Sometimes, we get lost... and stressing about it makes it more elusive. So we just have to relax and believe that the talent we have is always there. And just persevere and know that it will come back to us...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for agreeing with me. :) The point is never to stop writing, we don't know when will the big idea come to us so we just need to try and try until then, so when it hits, we are ready to write about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes sir... Thank you for this ... Like me as a newbie i encounter sometimes of lack of my mind... Lack of topic... Thank you god bless you always..

$ 0.00
3 years ago