April 13 : What's in a Day

3 27
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, History

April 13, 2021 - It has been a very hectic day so far. It has not been lunch time yet but I can already feel the hunger within my guts. Not because I'm a glut but I feel that I have already accomplished a lot today when it comes to my work. That says a lot since I am already writing an article eh?

Anyway, going back to the focus of this article, something sparked me when I got a look on the calendar. It's April 13, the number really got me. The number 13 has a lot of meanings to different people. One that is stuck to me is Taylor Swift's little obsession about this number. Some people say that it's unlucky, but she's a living proof that that idea is bogus, a sham, nothing but a figment of the imagination of some superstitious people. So with that my train of thoughts departed from the station with April 13 on board.

Special Day

As of present, I can't think why this day is a significant or special day to me. But for our brothers' and sisters' in Islam, it is the start of a month long observation of Ramadan.

Since the day is not even on it's half here, let us take a quick ride back through time and look back at the significant things that happened on this date, April 13 through out history.

April 13, 2020

An NY Governor said "I believe the worst is over if we continue to be smart". Andrew Cuomo said regarding the death toll of COVID19 passing 10,000 in NY. Well as of today, we are still waiting for things to get better.

Also in that day, Bernie Sanders endorsed Joe Biden for President, they were former rivals. I guess something like that could really happen in politics eh? Switching sides, I mean. I always thought that politics was were loyal and trustworthy people converge.

April 13, 2019

In the field of sports, Coach Gregg Popovich snatched the record from Lenny Wilkins of the most winningest coach in the NBA. With a record of 1413th wins he secured another accolade to his lucrative and decorated career. Hmmm. that makes me wonder, how many times did he lose? Any guesses?

For all the "army" out there, (it's in quotes because I am not referring to our brave men and women in uniform, I am so sorry) BTS became the first K-Pop group to perform in the US Show SNL (Saturday Night Live). And even without that, we all know how huge BTS has become.

On a total change of things, morbidly that is, the bodies of two Filipina where found in Cyprus, the first one belonged to a 38 year old woman, Marry Rose Tiburcio and the second to a 28 year old Arian Palanas Lozano. The discovery of the bodies sparked the hunt for the very first Cyprus' serial killer. Nikos Metaxas was later arrested and convicted for a total of 5 premeditated murders.

April 13, 2014

Another big day for the Filipinos and sports people, especially in the world of boxing. Manny "Pacman" Pacquiao defeated Timothy Bradley to regain his WBO Welterweight belt. Even back then, I honestly was expecting Manny to retire, but even to this day, it has not happened yet. It is not like I do not want him to fight but it's more like, enough is enough, nothing left to be proven.

Conclusion

Are you surprised to see the word "conclusion" at what seemed just the beginning part of an article? Well, so do I. But as I scour through the surface of the internet, pages after pages of noteworthy incidents or occurrences happened on the day on the 13th day of April. The earliest date I could see was April 13 in the year of 837. Just imagine that.

I started this article wondering what happened in April 13 in the previous years and let me end by saying that today, the present is all we have. The choice is ours to make it a special day for the years to come. So live for today, and as the old saying goes, seize the day.

Cheers!


Sources :

https://www.onthisday.com/events/april/13

BBC News - Cyprus Serial Killer...

https://www.timeanddate.com/on-this-day/april/13

https://www.britannica.com/on-this-day/April-13

Lead Image : https://www.dayoftheweek.org/?m=April&d=13&y=&go=Go

6
$ 2.97
$ 2.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
3 years ago
Topics: Life, History

Comments

What an article that brings back memories. This one has suddenly made me feel so old, because I recall things as if they just happened recently.

What caught my attention the most, is your mention of BTS. I may not have said it, but I am an ARMY! I am a huge fan of this wonderful boy group, and it is sometimes seen in some of my works.

Not everything memorable are good things. Some are also tragic and evokes sad moments of the past.

This makes me wonder, is time really the 'doctor' of the wounds? Just a random thought.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha aren't we all? Feeling old.

I got ya. Let me tell you, I am not a fan of the group. But I always end up humming or at least mouthing their songs off. LOL Dynamite's the bomb. Wow, that's fitting.

Anything that is packed up with emotions, regardless if it's good or bad emotions, it will be memorable.

Hmmmm.. I don't think so. Wounds may heal in time, but the scars will always be there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes! light it up like dynamite! thanks for your thoughts!

$ 0.00
3 years ago