A New Kind of Writer's Block

6 37
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Writing

Writer's block. This has been mentioned on this site alone countless of times. I do not have the exact number but judging from just the people I know and subscribed to, this has been mentioned time and time again. I imagine that this has also been discussed by other people in here too.

Rampant. I think the reason that this particular subject is so popular can be attributed to the amount of people experiencing this is growing in numbers. The number of aspiring writers bumping into this wall grows steadily every single day. Writer's block has a close relation to the number of articles one can produce in a specific duration. I believe that the more a person writes, the more chances he will get in having a writer's block.

If a person writes daily, the possibility of having a writer's block increases day by day. But the good thing is, the more you experience having a writer's block, the more you will be used to dealing with it and if you experience it quite enough you will be able to develop a system to counter it.

Anyway, this article has really nothing to do with writer's block but it's another condition I am facing and fighting through right now.

Not a Writer's Block

Drinking. Not water but alcohol, lots of it. That's what we do when we celebrate things. And just yesterday, we celebrated Father's day, and as you know, it's quite the excuse to indulge in heavy drinking. And that's exactly what I did.

Times like this can really open your eyes to the realization that you are not getting any younger. Back in the days, I can down half a case of beer, that's 6 bottles of pure liquor or around 3 liters of that happy juice. And that's without having to throw up everything in my stomach including my large intestines. Also, back then, after drinking myself to sleep, I will not even feel it much the next day.

But now it's different, I only had a "few" hard drinks. I quoted the few because well, I think my few will be "a lot" for some people. It's different because I still feel drunk a day after drinking. The drinks that I poured into my stomach comes back haunting me and with a vengeance.

Hangover. Feeling hangover makes you want to reach into your throat and just let everything loose. You just want to blow it all out so you can finally feel free and feel better.

Writing with hangover is quite the challenge too. Compared to writer's block, dealing with this one is a whole lot trickier. The letters look like they are dancing and teasing you back to sleep. Your head feels heavier than usual and your body just feels drained and yearning for a cold cold beer. Water, I mean water.

When you have a writer's block, you can overcome it with some reading. But try reading with a hangover, you'll absorb nothing. As in nothing. You can also derive your inspiration to overcome hangover with listening to music. But you can't really do that with hangover, just hearing the keyboard clicks makes your head wanting to explode. Every little sound you hear feels like someone or something is screaming at you. It's just a lot of headache.

Writing Through It

I guess the similarity between writer's block and hangover is the way I go through it. The best way to break out of it in one go is just keep writing through it. Although it may take you longer to write a couple of paragraphs, still it's writing. Forget about the clock, forget about the deadlines and everything else. Forget the format and forget the content. Just type away, write away and you'll feel better once you have done something you can call an article.

Hey there!

Oh yes! I have done it. I have gone through it, although I am not over it, I played right through it. LOL I just woke up with a hangover, boom instant regret. Anyhow, glad that I'm feeling a bit better. And for that...

Cheers!!!

Alright, this is just cold water now okay? :)


Lead image: Grammarly.com

7
$ 5.91
$ 5.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 3
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Writing

Comments

I like beer, but I am not a heavy drinker. I drank more when I was younger at parties. Now if I have only 1 bottle of beer I can feel it a little bit. If I had 4 or 5 I would be drank. Anyway I had 1 yesterday as I am a father plus it was my little one's 3rd. birthday so it was a double celebration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah. That's great. That's a real deserved one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing with hangover, I dare not write because I won't believe what the outcome will be. I tried it once and it didn't turn out as I suppose. I have quitted drinking now, so I have no issue with hangover.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow. That's good for you then. :) I thought this came out a bit decent, so it's fine I guess. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"just keep writing through it." - Mister hungover wordsmith, hats off to you!

You remind me of Finding Forrester not sure if you've watched it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hey.. that I am. Hahaha thanks.

Hmm not sure.. was it good?

$ 0.00
2 years ago