Digital Art: How to Create your first Penrose Triangle

2 78
Avatar for mathematics.proofs
3 years ago

By Tiago Hands: https://www.instagram.com/tiago_hands/

In the video below, I demonstrate how you can create your first Penrose triangle using Grid Paint. The Penrose triangle is an impossible object, or to put it simply, an optical illusion.

According to sources, it was first created by the Swedish artist Oscar Reutersvärd in 1934. Later on it was popularised in the 1950's by psychiatrist Lionel Penrose and his son Sir Roger Penrose, one of today's most popular and respected mathematicians.

Once you've learnt how to create the Penrose triangle, you'll then be able to come up with different variations of the object, like the one below - which is my work, believe it or not:

I've been working on impossible objects for about 5 years now and I even have an Instagram page that is mainly dedicated towards this type of work.

There is a lot more that I could say about Penrose triangles and impossible objects (namely their connection to the seed of life pattern), but I'll save the rest of my knowledge for further articles related to the topic. If you are interested in reading and learning more about this kind of art, stay tuned.

I hope my video inspires you to start creating your own kind of designs, similar to mine. Keep me updated in the comments section about your progress!

24
$ 0.29
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of mathematics.proofs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mathematics.proofs
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article and nice information . Your article is incredible. I like this type of article .thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this. I haven't tried digital arts since I don't have enough confidence to do it. But I'll try working on it some time. I'm pretty sure it will help me in the future (maybe in teaching).

$ 0.00
3 years ago