Valentine Evergreen.

1 39
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Valentine woke up to his morning alarm, knowing that it’s the saint with the same name as his’ birthday. He can’t help but get frustrated that it will be another holiday for couples he can’t celebrate. It’s been two years since Valentine’s single, and that last breakup was traumatic for him. He got up and ate his usual breakfast, typical bacon and eggs and a cup of warm coffee. While drinking, he thought of going to dating apps to celebrate the day; it’s been a while since he’s had good company. So he downloaded one and tried his luck to the girls he’s found attractive. He knows that there’s just a 10% chance of people going to dating apps on this holiday; probably they’re busy or already had their dates. After consecutive swipes of left and right, Valentine just proceeded to do his chores, wash the dishes, water the plants, and tidied his apartment to let himself play games and watch movies all day long.

“Why does it have to be a non-working day” He sighed, contemplating stuff while doing his chores. Moments later, his phone rang. He rushed to get his phone and surprised to see his best friend call. He immediately answered the phone, hoping that he’d hang out this day.

“Hey, Val! I have a problem. Do you perhaps have a date this day?” Alex asked on the other side of the phone.

Valentine’s excitement and hopes vanished when Alex asked that question. “No, I haven’t. Why? Do you even have a date?”

“Yeah,” He chuckled, “It’s Rebecca from work; we kinda had a thing going on these past few days, so..”

Val was surprised that even his friend got the hottest girl from his workplace, “Damn, you’ve got the jackpot prize. Unfortunately, I haven’t. Why? What happened?”

Alex sighed, “Well, she booked a table for four, and it will be a waste if it’s just going to be the two of us. I mean, the more, the merrier, right?”

“Well, I wish I could help you. But, I’ve just decided to play games all day to celebrate the God-forsaken day.” Val replied.

“That’s a bummer bud, just let me know if you’d get a buzzer-beater. After all, it is your day.” Alex teased sarcastically and laughed, turning down the call.

Valentine shrugged the funny conversation, but deep inside, he wanted the company either from a friend or a lovely dame. Moments later, he finished his household tasks and went on to rest on his comfortable couch. He looked up, laying his head on the backrest of the sofa, “What should I play today?” He pondered, thinking about where he should start. Will he continue the quest from an RPG game or grind his rank on FPS games? Not until his phone vibrated, he just kept looking up, thinking it was Alex, telling him that he got the people for the date. But to his surprise, the phone vibrated a couple of times, and it was like it was spamming to get his attention. He didn’t hesitate and immediately grabbed his phone on the kitchen counter. Much to his surprise, it was notifications from the dating app telling that he’s got a match and is messaging him,

“Hey! It’s funny that we’ve matched this day.”

“Funny bio, you should’ve lived up to your name by having a date.”

“So, want to go on a date? We could pay for each other’s meal.”

“Man, I hope I’m not too late. I’m bored in the house.”

“Hope you reply so I can entertain other options, kidding LMAO.”

Valentine was glad that it was a verified account, and it shows that she just registered on this day also early in the morning. He was elated to know that he got the lucky 10% to have an unplanned date. He then immediately replied with a smile on his face.

“I already know you were up to that since you messaged first, hahaha!” Valentine sent, but before he can close the app, she immediately replied, “Duh, the things boredom can do. So, are you down?”

“Hell yeah, why not?” Valentine’s smile reached from ear to ear, and he remembered Alex’s offer about a double date. “I have a suggestion. Would you prefer it being a double date?”

“Uhm, sure, As long as I got productive to do and find a way to celebrate this day,” She replied, along with a selfie on the couch. It looks like she was recently working since she tied her hair with a ponytail. Something tells him that this is just going to be a one-time thing— at least for her.  But he thought that it might just go both ways; she’s desperate, and also he is, yet Valentine knew that he’s ready for a relationship and hopes that she would genuinely be the one.

He was immediately captivated by her beauty when she sent her picture. It took a while for him to reply a compliment, and she teased, “I’m definitely your type. I bet you’ve been staring at my photo, hahaha!” Valentine blushed but then denied her accusation so that things won’t get awkward. “Silly you, I was arranging stuff. I’ll pick you up before 7pm; let’s make the most out of this day.” He replied, with a winking emoji at the end of the text.

“Whatever, Valentino. I’ll see you, xoxo.” She replied and went offline.

Valentine let out a loud “YES!” in his apartment, letting out his suppressed, exciting emotions.

He immediately dialed Alex after,

“Come on, Alex, pick up!” He was impatient to tell him the big news, in the hopes that his offer still stands.

Alex then picked up the phone after that, “So have you fo-” he was immediately interrupted by Valentine, explaining jubilantly what just happened and how he managed to get a date.

“So, Alex, how does 7pm sound?”

“Sure, the reservation is around 7:30, but 7:00 will do,” Alex chuckled, “It really is your day, huh?” He playfully asked.

“Carpe diem brother, Carpe diem.”

To be continued in chapter 2.


Hey, I know, I posted this late because I was busy. I planned to finish this piece before Valentine’s Day, but things got really hectic in my online classes, plus the demons of procrastination devouring me. Anyways, I finally managed to finish chapter one and would be in sight to complete chapters 2 and 3 this week. I hope you had the time to read it; I appreciate it so much. So if anything else, I hope you stay safe.

As always, keep reaching for the stars.

-       Marcmire

4
$ 4.01
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Comments

Ohhhh you're going for a short story now >w< it's starting off cute! Good luck Valentine!

$ 0.00
3 years ago