The circles of unproductivity: A Self-Evaluation

0 53
Avatar for marcmire
2 years ago

 The circles of unproductivity: A Self-Evaluation

Do you ever have those times that you don’t want to do anything for a whole day and just lay in bed thinking about the stuff that’s been running in your mind lately? For me, I have these circles of unproductivity that’s been plaguing me for a week or even weeks, to the point that I can’t do something productive and meaningful during the passing time. I instantly regret it when I can grasp the motivation and inspiration and write them for you to read. So this article will serve as an evaluation and, at the same time, introduce you to my circles.

1. “The circle of procrastination.”

The circle of procrastination represents my neglect of duties or tasks in my everyday life. It significantly affects my lifestyle as I can’t commit to doing it for the time being or eventually for a long time. I hate myself as I dwell in this circle as if trying to find my way out is impossible unless I get a turbo boost of motivation which happens rarely. Now tell me, do you ever feel lying in bed thinking that you should do this and you should do that, getting all complacent because your deadlines are still far away? Trust me, that’s what I feel during this week and is the exact visualization per se, and I haven’t felt like doing anything except eat and try to get on with life. Of course, I finished the task at hand, but at what cost? My efficient productivity.

Why do I depict it as a circle?

The circle represents the chain of thoughts about your duties and responsibilities that you often think about doing but don’t. The process keeps on spinning and spinning with time passing by. You can only overcome the circle with great determination to do the task and break the barrier between you and your work efficiency.

2. “The garden of laziness.”

In the garden of Laziness, you can often find sloths in the trees and people lying down on the benches, and the smooth trimmed grass. Ironically when in the place, you slowly realize and see the trees wave through the breath of the wind with the sloths hanging on for life when the leaves fall with it. The trimmed grass shows its thinning because there is no water, yet it depicts it as trim.  There is constant chaos with the illusion of a perfect garden. That is how I view my surroundings as I enter the silver threshold of it.  I can only break the plague that infects the park when I let myself be awakened by productivity and let go of the illusion. As I allowed myself to awaken, I would only perceive that everything needs to tidy up. I stood up and started to water the grass, let the sunlight do the job, and make the surroundings healthy with its energy. It is only then that I know I already did a good job when the birds start to visit the garden and the sloths come down, and people do their jobs.

Just like in real life

We tell our minds that things don’t need work because they are already good as it is, but not really. By that, we become lazy and find ourselves in the garden.

3. Brainstorm

In the case of brainstorm, it consumes a lot of time. The rain of ideas and inspiration can be overwhelming to the point that you’d space out in an open area getting drenched in brainpower. The scholars that tend the land, form a circle to materialize a concrete idea to be used by me. Books lay to the ground as they manifest the energy that comes from the skies above. The books give power to the land, maintaining the high energy that surfaces across the atmosphere; Just like a cycle.

As I curate the surge of ideas, it would take a lot of time, making it prone to unproductivity as some ideas can go one place to another, and I would space out. I would come back to the surface with a great writing idea or craft on the brighter side.

But still,

This circle can be dangerous if you dwell in it for too long, as it can shift your curiosity into a long tiring burnout, resulting in great unproductivity.

4. The Orchestra

This circle takes the form of an opera house, where I generally store all the great music that I’ve encountered in my existence. If I ever come into this circle, it would be a long, long time since I’ll be able to get tired of listening and go back with my work. The serene and nostalgic memories that accompany my stay resonates within the walls of the opera house.

Why would you leave when it feels so peaceful?

Even though it’s peaceful, it can become unproductive. You get inspiration from the great music dating from present and old as you envision virtuosos playing in front of you, and you are the only audience. Your imagination rushes to the kind of sceneries that this music will accompany, and that will be the start of it.

5. The Abyss

This circle is one of the deadliest circles to ever exist in me. This circle takes the form of a platform floating in a dark space. The cold atmosphere accompanies a desolate wasteland that, as if war was recently waged and famine followed. Wandering the half of this platform makes you question your very existence and the reality of life. The abyss is the deepest circle of unproductivity, and it’s also the deadly one since half of the platform is the darkest part of the platform, and it is where my very demons reside. They rule and run the place, and if I go any further there, there is a probability that they’ll make me jump off the platform and plunge into my demise.  

Also, being in the circle will inevitably result in an ample amount of unproductivity, followed by self-evaluation to keep my mind sane.

--

So that wraps my circles. It’s been a while since I’ve been writing; I guess I’ve been into the circles of unproductivity, hahaha! Anyways, stay safe, and I would see you at the next one.

2
$ 5.22
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
2 years ago

Comments