Ten seconds

2 35
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

10 seconds is all I need

Time is at the essence of all those who work through hardships.

Time is valuable, unalterable, and essential in our daily lives.

Time is constant.

Time waits for no one.

But, 10 seconds is all I need.


I stood upon the pavement on the side of the road on a hot sunny morning. I'm already late at work, and there has not been a sign of a taxi cab; my car's busted, and my Uber driver has just canceled on me. Talk about a lucky morning.

As usual, I went to the nearest intersection of the neighborhood despite the scorching heat, trying my luck in finding a cab. Instead, I was met by a mugger as soon as I reached the intersection. The streets were empty, and it was unusual that it was only him and me. This neighborhood is bustling when it comes to workdays, but why does it feel like a ghost town?

The mugger looked straight into my eyes, intimidating me with the sharp blade he's holding. I'm about to yield all my belongings to him since I value my life over anything else. As soon as I reached out my bag to him, I felt a very sharp pain in the abdomen. The knife went deep down to my stomach, hitting my insides. "You should've stayed inside," He said, letting out a muffled chuckle through his black balaclava.

I'm confused as to how things escalated at this very minute, "What the hell is happening?" I thought, as my body felt lifeless and my clothes soaked in blood. Time slowed down as I fall on the pavement where I stood.

Ten hours earlier.

It's already 11 pm, and I still have work tomorrow, but "One more game, and I'm off to bed," I said to myself as I'm already on a losing streak and I hate going to bed without a win. The frustration and stress of getting defeated every time on the last round are getting to my nerves.

A couple of games later, surging with an adrenaline rush at the climax of the round. I face a 1v1 with a pro player with every clutch play I make; I finally caught him off guard and defeated him. I won the round, and I achieved my win. I felt relieved as the adrenaline rush that got me made me wide awake and focused on dominating the game. I glanced at the time on my phone, and I was shocked that it was already 3:30 am. I immediately put my phone on the desk beside my bed and went to sleep.

Ten minutes earlier.

"Goddamn it, I'm already late for work." I cried, "Why do I have to play that stupid game anyways," I hastily went for the bathroom and brushed my teeth before I put on my corporate attire, it's getting pretty late, and I know my car's busted all around, so I'm going to opt for a taxi cab or something. I didn't have time to check my phone since my paperwork is all scattered on the desk on the kitchen table. I remembered that I stopped halfway through since proofreading a lot can be tedious. I passed by my tv and didn't bother to turn it on. Usually, I would watch the news if I had an hour before work, but it's not today. My boss would kill me for sure; I had been tardy last week, and it might be the final straw today, plus I didn't finish my paperwork. I might get fired, but who cares anyway? Life goes on. After I've organized everything, I locked the doors before going outside to start my day. My stomach rumbles, but I didn't pay it any mind; what caught my attention was how empty the streets are on a busy day.

Ten years earlier.

"Breaking news: Propaganda of vigilante groups start to surface after the call for justice of murder-victim Alex Rapp has been silenced. Activists say this would significantly affect our country since this is negligence of state law and human rights abuse. The government has been paying no mind about these allegations, saying the court trial for the murder suspect is right and just as it followed the court's due process.

There are conspiracy theories that the propagandas that have surfaced must not be a subject to ignore by the state as it can be a sign of great chaos and destruction about to come in the country. The government should not take underground organizations lightly as they have the power to shake the equilibrium in our society—the president has already mobilized the army to catch the perpetrators. This Rose Mooringdale, reporting for Dash News."

"Honey, let's move out. This country has gone nuts," My wife asked.

I refused since I am so close to getting hired by a prestigious company in the city.

"Fuck conspiracy theorists, don't listen to them. The country is just fine, don't worry," I reassured her, but her face says she isn't convinced.

I have to try hard.

Present

I look up to the skies and hear sirens along the other side of the neighborhood, not sirens of hope but sirens of destruction. I look to my side as I see groups of people coming towards our area, smashing the doors of every home. As my eyes start to blackout, I can only hear their screams of torment and despair. If only I had made use of my time, just a matter of 10 seconds would've saved me from death, or was it more? If only I could turn back time, I could still visit my wife in the other country she currently resides.

I only needed ten seconds to avoid death.

I only needed ten seconds to decide that I shouldn't have played the game.

I only needed ten seconds to decide that I should've watched the news.

I only needed ten seconds to decide to go with my wife and start a new life in another country.

I only needed ten seconds to decide and skip work and protect myself from the vigilantes.

"I only needed Ten—"

-          Marcmire

2
$ 5.75
$ 5.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Comments

Time is precious, it is saying that if some one not respect time, time will also not respect them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just one second could have changed everything and that's what sucks tbh

$ 0.00
3 years ago