Silence

1 29
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago
Topics: Reality, Short Story

It's already late at night, and I'm laying here alone in my full bed, accompanied by the raging thunder and heavy rainfall outside. I did not have the chance to peacefully sleep, pondering over what would be the outcome of tomorrow.

As my thoughts went deep, not realizing that I've already fallen into a deep slumber. I noticed that it's already morning. I can say it's already going to be a beautiful day, as my girlfriend greets me with a cheerful smile and a lovely kiss to my morning dried lips. "Good morning." She said, smiling as if seeing her lifetime happiness in front of her. I replied with a simple good morning and hugged her tight.

As usual, we ate breakfast, and chatted about silly things, had showered together, and after dressing up, we went to our respective jobs. She gave me a goodbye kiss before going out and gave her one as well.

It was a typical day at work, and papers weren't that much a lot to handle this day.
Coworkers seem to enjoy the atmosphere in the office, there I remembered, it was the company president's birthday, and they are going to have a party later here after work.

Eventually, everyone's jobs done and it was already nearing night, so they already set up the music and went on with the alcoholic drinks, and moments later the party started. As time passes by, the majority of us began to get drunk. It was a wild one, to be honest, some went home already, but some stayed to enjoy, and I am one of them.

One of my coworkers started to flirt with me and asked for a one night stand. I reluctantly agreed as I'm already drunk; I know this will pass by. I deserve to enjoy it. Besides, another one night won't hurt.

So we exited the building, and for a split second I saw the silhouette of the girl across the street that has a resemblance that of my girlfriend, my coworker asked me, "What's the hold-up?" "Nothing," I replied, then we entered the car and slowly drove to a nearby motel and got intimate.

I was quite exhausted after, she gave me a smile of satisfaction, and so did I. Luckily, I still have the energy to go home despite being drunk, As I entered my apartment, I noticed the time was already 2 am or 3 am. My girlfriend was laying on the couch with a tissue roll beside her, and dried ones on the floor. I assume she had a rough day and would ask her tomorrow since my head is too heavy to interact.

I immediately headed to the bedroom and slept peacefully, it was a day well spent, but I reckon there was something special about this day, but I didn't bother to think anymore since I'm already super tired.

I woke up late with a hangover, and it was strange that I didn't receive a "good morning." from my girlfriend nor a wakeup call. I was bothered, so I went to the living room and saw a letter. In the letter, it read that my girlfriend had enough of me, my infidelity was killing her, no matter how much she tries to revive our love, it's still no sound. She's cutting all her contacts with me and that, I would never see her again. Before her name and signature the last lines, we're "Happy anniversary."

I then remembered that it was our anniversary yesterday, I feel terrible, and my heart ached, I didn't know she'd feel that way. I do love her, but, I guess we're done. I'm a free man now, but I reckon she'd come back. I thought boastfully.

As usual, I ate, bathe, and got dressed for work like nothing happened. Well, nothing's better than being a free man. I got to make it count.

Work's done, and I already got home. The greetings of silence were new to me; I grew accustomed to her going home before me and would welcome me home. There's just something missing, and I can't just shrug it off. I just ate dinner and went to bed.

The deafening silence engulfs the room, and it sinks in that she's never going back. I tried pleading for her to come back, but it's no good. It's been years now, and I'm still a mess. Every time I'd see the other side of the bed, I see myself being torn and incomplete without her, and the silence is the one to let me realize that. She was my yin to my yang, the perfect girl to even the scales. Sometimes, you get too blinded and make it uneven, and there you summon chaos and disaster.

I still think about that night, on how I let a little time of pleasure trade over a lifetime of happiness.

The silence was like the calm before the storm.

Now the storm arrived, and destroyed everything in its path; it took everything. A flurry of my summoning, I should have protected my girl from the start. I never realized til' then that there are things that'll stay gone forever, no matter how much you beg for fate and karma. Some things won't go back to the way they were before. I'm regretting that I should have loved her more, but now she's gone.

The silence is so loud to echo the mistakes of my past.

The silence is a friend nor a foe, as it makes me imagine that you were still here without a hindrance.

The silence is you.

-Marcmire

2
$ 6.92
$ 6.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago
Topics: Reality, Short Story

Comments

I feel this on so many levels. It's so hard to cope with silence. And much more maddening when it's been with you for so long

$ 0.00
3 years ago