Scouting Revelry.

8 68
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Hello there, I'm sure you're familiar with the scouts and, and how they actively participate in the community by thoroughly lending a helping hand and being active in scouting events.

Today, I'm going to share what are my experiences, and how I perceive scouting as one of the most essential and fun stuff to encounter during the coming of adolescence.

So what is scouting?

Late Lord Baden Powell 1986.

Founded by Lieutenant General Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell, or simply Lord Baden Powell. Scouting puts its purpose in developing physical, mental, social and spiritual aspects of the youth. The activities implemented by scouting events mainly focus on these for the sole reason that they would be productive members of the society.

The impact to the young people really puts a proud face on the parents and guardians. Scouting can turn a frail boy who doesn't even know how to cook to a person who knows to fend off for himself and knows the way of basic survival fundamentals.

'I don’t normally let Thomas carry dinner plates through – he can be clumsy…but when he cooked me a meal from scratch, I was so proud'

The rewards of confidence and self sufficiency can really have a big impact in the growth of young scouts, being able to lead their peers and be able to distinguish right or wrong in a disciplined and respectable manner.

What are the activities of scouts?

There are a lot! But, I'm just going to put what I usually experienced in my days as a scout.

We usually went on camping (inside borders of the school having to cook our own food), went on hiking to a nearby mountain and especially the ghost stories during at night before we go to sleep.

It really promotes camaraderie since we have a lot of stuff to talk about and all activities solely relies on teamwork and team effort.

Night ceremony at our school. (2012)

These are usually conducted during a camporal and Jamboree. Camporal is at school (mostly in the Philippines, and Jamboree can be provincial, nationwide or international.

But the contests are a factor of the fun!

Scout Law Relay contest.

The scout sign.

These are usually carried out by patrols with 12 members in it, making sure they memorize the 12 laws in order to have a smooth run.

  1. Trustworthy

  2. Loyal

  3. Helpful

  4. Friendly

  5. Courteous

  6. Kind

  7. Obedient

  8. Cheerful

  9. Friendly

  10. Brave

  11. Clean

  12. Reverent.

Patrols battle it out to whoever finishes writing first (alternatively) at the paper below the flag across them, meters away.

The winner gets the points and bragging rights.

Compass relay contest.

This one is actually a bit hard, since you need to know the true north (where the sun rises and sets) directions on the compass are plastered on wooden square blocks.

The first patrol to ever assemble it in this manner wins the contest.

Knot tying contest.

My personal guide. (2017)

The contest is simple but hard (At least for me). You need to tie the knots that with the corresponding name of what type of knot it is.

Across your patrol, there are ropes with a paper beside them and a medium piece of wood that is used to where you'd tie the knots.

It is actually a challenge because you'd be pressured by the time, thinking you'd let your team fall behind the others. Accuracy is the focal point of this contest.

Flags, Hand, and Lantern Signals

Luckily, I still have a copy of these. These might really come in handy if I went out scouting again soon.

I would never forget the adventures that I had. It can never be expressed just by words because the experience is just too good.

The petty fights, banters, the supposed rap battle with other provinces' representatives, being scolded as a patrol by going to a swimming pool without notice, The contests that we won with constant practice and etc.

I want to cover more of this topic, so I decided to join more activities in scouting as a rover scout soon after this pandemic is lifted.

I'm excited to dive in to emergency rescue protocols and learn bandaging.

Might as well be productive in my 20's, since we're not getting any younger soon and we need to establish stronger connections with people.

The nostalgia just kicked in, and it was really fun writing this article. It just brings so much memories.

Til then,

I'll tell you more about scouting soon enough!

Have a great day ahead.

-Marcmire.

4
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of marcmire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marcmire
3 years ago

Comments

They taught you guys morse code, flags and sign language ;-; that's so cool. I only got to experience that during ROTC and it was in now way as fun as this. And so cute, you were a scouttt! >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still suck at the signs though. ROTC is more inclined to the Army-ish fundamentals. But scouting focuses on survival fundamentals though it still adopts the army's way of formation but yep, it's not as strict as ROTC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While in girl's scouts though, they basically teach you how to be a wife 😂 I swould still prefer ROTC over anything, any day. Would have been fun if scouting for both guys and girls had the same protocols

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, Girls can be Boy Scouts too. I've seen a lot of girls in my scouting days, and some are more cooler than the guys I was with ngl.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. nit in my school years, i guess. There was a distinct separation between them. I would have joined if it ever started around when i could still do scouting activities

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We got a boy's scout here kawaiiiiiii I cant stop grinning hahaha memories bring back memories! Though our parents cook for us back then mweee how lame hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha, at least the experience is a fun one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, i guess you're right haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago