Spotted Ladybird

10 32
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

On a fine day in November, 2018, we decided to go to an agriculture exhibition center, some 40 kilometers drive away. The day was fairly cloudy but no sign of potential rain, thinking that it would be a good day for walking around. But when we reached there, the sky looked threatening but we were glad that we managed to find a parking and started walking to the exhibition farm.

It was an outdoor exhibition that showcased different farming technologies and methods, the various agricultural produce and there was a wide range of stalls that sold plants of many kinds. There were cows and chickens, goats, fishes and birds.

One stall had vegetable plants. While looking at some chili plant, there it was. A cute little ladybird. I think ladybird is one insect that I am comfortable with, to hold, to get close to without feeling eeky. And it was not often that I spot one.

The ladybird didn't move, luckily, as I moved my phone closer to it, to take the shot.

And I went a little closer...

That was the best close-up shot I could get then, before it flew away. I liked the way its body shine (or wings once they opened up to fly).

With a happy heart, we walked to an exhibition hall and in one of the exhibits, some species of ladybird were on display, though I preferred the live one much more.


The photos were taken using my iPhone 6, with its square frame function without any filters.

Looking at my smartphone photographs back in 2018, the quality then, I think, wasn't as good as if it was now in terms of focus, especially after several rounds of Operating System (OS) upgrades. But considering I have not been able to spot a ladybird now, that would be the best shots I had of the cutey bug.


This is my entry in support of @Isabellaa 's SYT: Creative SmartPhone Photography's Community contest, together with @wakeupkitty and @heartbeat1515 : https://read.cash/@Isabellaa/photography-contest-9b7cc302


5
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of marblely
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for marblely
3 years ago

Comments

I really like ladybugs. I have very few images of ladybugs. And I haven't seen one in a long time in my garden. They are beautiful!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too! They are so cute. Yah, I have not seen one in a long time too. I really like it when they drop by :) Thank you for stopping by @gertu13!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That must be a good sign. Can be the variety of your plants and herbs is good enough to scare the insects/plagues away this bug has for dinner. With me, they always show up way too late but this summer I haven't seen many, same for other insects. Even the wasps dropped dead because of a huge lack of water. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah true true. It is a good sign not to have bugs around :) It is a bug after all, no matter how cute they are. But no water, that is tough on you, don't even talk about insects.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Rather, I think it is due to the lack of water that they have not come as in other years. Because the same pests continue and continue in my plants. Especially in those of aubergines. That right now they are loaded with fruits. Ladybugs used to come and eat the pests but now they haven't.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the reflection from the ladybug wings. Shinny.

The ladybug is cute but I wouldn't touch it because I am not person that like bug so much. I am always afraid that insect will bite or smell unpleasant.

That is why I enjoy looking at photography. A safer way to watch bug or insect 😅😅

Good luck with contest dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are shiny. I didn't realise how shiny they were until I saw the photos :D Good point there, photos are much safer to view, though to take a photo of them, it can get pretty risky haha. We need those selfie sticks. Thank you dear. How many entries are we allowed? I suppose just one?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just got the news that the original announcer has given up on the contest again, therefore @wakeupkitty will be taking over and we are going to finish what is left. We need to wait for the new announcement from her. I just got online today. A lot of catching up to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you know ladybugs are not sweet at all? They can be nasty buyers. I always wondered while people find them cute and they are used for a symbol of peace and love. If you think about it it's as ridiculous as a rose with fat thorns as a sign for love and the color red (red stands for aggression too which makes me think as well). Nevertheless, they are useful and used (even bought) by farmers to protect their crops. I didn't see many in my garden this year. Quest even the insects and bugs had a hard time.

You photographed a shiny one. It has 9 dots (once they told me the dots stand for the age but that must be a fairy tale).

Do not forget to leave your link underneath the contest

Good luck with your lucky bug/entry. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh they are nasty? Do they bite? Ooo.. is that why a peace sign looks like that? It is based on a ladybug? I didn't know that :D I have read about them being useful for crops. And they look so cute. I guess if crops are infested by them, they won't look that cute anymore. Thank you for the note on the link. I have left the link in Isabellaa's contest post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago